Mizoram announces senior squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy

Cricket Association of Mizoram hosted trials for all age-groups to prepare the final list, including the U-19 and U-16 category.

CAM General Secretary Mamon Majumder (centre) prepares the final draft with the officials in Aizawl on Tuesday.   -  Instagram/ CAM

After continuous trials and assessment for about four weeks, Cricket Association of Mizoram (CAM) has announced the senior squad for the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Tuesday.

Mizoram, one among the nine new teams, in the upcoming domestic season, also revealed its U-19 squad for Vinoo Mankad Trophy and the U-16 squad for Vijay Merchant Trophy in the 2018-19 season.

“We had a feeling we may play this season, so we had started the process long ago. First, we jotted down a set of probables, and then, we went for trials. It was a non-residential coaching camp type of a trial from morning to evening,” Mamon Majumder, General Secretary (CAM) told Sportstar on Tuesday.

“We assessed the technical abilities and fitness of the players. We had coaches and managers for each team. They submitted reports after the trials based on which the selection was made,” he discussed the process.

There is still no clarity as to who will coach the senior side in the season. “It lies with the Board of Control for Cricket in India. They will be appointing the coach,” said Majumder.

Local coach Lalruata Sanga monitored the seniors in the trials.

Seniors Team for Vijay Hazare Trophy: K. Vanlalruata (C), Michael Lalremkima (VC), Lalhmangaiha, C. Lalrinsanga, Gaurav Singh, Saidingliana Sailo (WK), Lalhruaimawia Ralte, G. Lalbiakvela, Lalnuntluanga, Zorinliana, R. Lalnunkima, Lalrempuia

U-19 Team for Vinoo Mankad Trophy: Zothanzuala (C), K. Lalhriatrenga, T.C. Vanlalremruata, F. Lalruatfela, B. Lalnunfela, C. Vanlalthafamkima, H. Laldintluanga, K. Lalrinfela, H. Malsawmzuala, V.L. Remruatpuia, Sahil Reza, Vanneihtluanga

U-16 Team for Vijay Merchant Trophy: Sahil Sharma (C), K. Vanrotlinga, C. Vanlalhruaia, F. Malsawmtluanga, Lalrinsanga, Vanmalsawma Ralte, Lalduhsaka, Albert Ramthlanpuia, Jaibee Babu, Remruatfela, Rahul Sunar, Gilbert Libian Kulu

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :