PSPB Badminton tournament: ONGC sweeps team titles

The might of defending champion ONGC came to the fore.

Members of the triumphant Oil and Natural Gas Corporation, winner of the men's and women's team championship in the PSPB inter-unit badminton tournament in Greater Noida on Wednesday.   -  special arrangement

Results followed expected lines with Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) sweeping the team titles at the expense of Indian Oil Corporation in the PSPB inter-unit badminton tournament here on Wednesday.

The might of defending champion ONGC came to the fore in the men's team final when H. S. Prannoy, B. Sai Praneeth and Sourabh Verma pulled off the three singles in the 3-1 verdict.

Indian Oil could only manage the doubles, where ONGC fielded a scratch combination of Praneeth and Prannoy against specialists M. R. Arjun and Chirag Shetty.

Ajay Jayaram proved a big let down for Indian Oil on the second successive day. Praneeth trounced him 21-13, 21-11 in a one-sided contest to win a crucial match for ONGC.

In the women’s team final, Rituparna Das failed to live up to her billing but that did not hurt ONGC.

After Indian Oil took the lead with young Sai Uttejitha Rao beating Rituparna in three games, ONGC hit back through the pair of Ashwini Ponnappa and Rutuparna Panda.

In the deciding tie, the experience of P. C. Thulasi, once ranked third in the country behind Saina Nehwal and P. V. Sindhu, proved too much for Tanvi Lad.

The results:

Team championship (final):

Men: ONGC beat Indian Oil 3-1 (H. S. Prannoy bt P. Vishnuvardhan 21-16, 21-19; B. Sai Praneeth bt Ajay Jayaram 21-13, 21-11; B. Sai Praneeth and H. S. Prannoy lost to M. R. Arjun and Chirag Shetty 16-21, 24-22, 14-21; Sourabh Verma bt Priyanshu Rajawat 21-19, 20-22, 21-15).

Women: ONGC beat Indian Oil 2-1 (Rituparna Das lost to Sai Uttejitha Rao 19-21, 21-17, 13-21; Rutuparna Panda and Ashwini Ponnappa bt Aparna Balan and Sikki Reddy 21-18, 21-17; P. C. Thulasi bt Tanvi Lad 14-21, 21-12, 21-9.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :