Chennai Super Kings skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni readies for a record ninth IPL final when his team takes on the Mumbai Indians in the title clash in Hyderabad on Sunday. While this is CSK's eighth entry into the title encounter, Dhoni played the 2017 final with the now defunct Rising Pune Supergiant when it lost to MI by one run.

Dhoni has won three titles: in 2010, 2011 and 2018 and is gunning for a fourth. The talismanic keeper-batsman has 178 runs in eight previous finals.

Last year, when CSK beat the Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai to lift its third title, Dhoni wasn't required to bat at all.

Dhoni has been in spectacular form with the bat this season, racking up 414 runs from 14 matches at an astonishing average of 103.50 — best batting average this edition — including three fifties. The right-handed batsman also holds the record for the longest six hit this year : 111 metres, and will be hoping to sign off on a high on Sunday.