Neymar Jr’s Five: Kalina Rangers emerge winners

Mumbai's Kalina Rangers got past Aizawl Underdogs FC to win the final of the Red Bull Neymar Jr’s Five tournament.

The Kalina Rangers pose with the winners cheque after winning the final of the Red Bull Neymar Jr’s Five.   -  Special Arrangement

Kalina Rangers of Mumbai beat Aizawl Underdogs FC 1-0 to win the national finals of Red Bull Neymar Jr’s Five, an international five-on-five football tournament patronised by the Brazilian star. 

The final stage, which was held at a venue in New Town on the outskirts of the city, saw the winners of the qualifiers held in different cities across the country converging. Apart from the trophy, the final also decided the team which will represent India in the World finals to be held in Neymar Jr.’s hometown Sao Paulo in July.

More than 3,000 teams from around the country took part in the tournament and the qualifiers played in 17 cities – Mumbai, Hyderabad, Goa, Bangalore, Ahmedabad, Cochin, Pune, Chennai, Kolkata, Trivandrum, Guwahati, Calicut, Shillong, Delhi, Aizawl, Chandigarh and Jaipur. The four teams that progressed to the semifinals after winning a series of knock-out rounds were Friends United from Bangalore, Boom Boom FC from Goa, Underdogs FC and Kalina Rangers.

Indian goalkeeper and Red Bull athlete Gurpreet Singh Sandhu was present to cheer the sides playing the national finals. 

The results: Semifinals - Kalina Rangers 1 bt Friends United 0; Underdogs FC 1 bt Boom Boom FC 0; Final: Kalina Rangers 1 bt Underdogs FC 0.

  Dugout videos