National selection trials: Mehuli Ghosh outclasses seniors and juniors

Mehuli Ghosh won the gold in the women's as well as juniors' air rifle events at the National selection trials on Tuesday.


Mehuli Ghosh was in supreme form at the National selection trials on Tuesday.   -  Kamesh Srinivasan

Mehuli Ghosh was in superb form as she tamed a strong field in the women’s and junior events in air rifle in the sixth National shooting selection trials at the Dr. Karni Singh Range, Tughlakabad, on Tuesday.

It was a brilliant finish in women’s final, as Commonwealth Games silver medallist, Mehuli delivered near perfect 10.8 each on the last two shots to beat qualification topper Shreya Agrawal by 0.8 point.

World No.1 Apurvi Chandela who had won two individual gold medals in the World Cups this season, with world record to boot, was third.

In the junior event, Mehuli shot 252.2 and outclassed Khushi Saini by 3.4 points.

In the men’s 25-metre rapid fire pistol, Anhad Jawanda topped with 31 hits in the final, and beat Olympian Gurpreet Singh by five points. Qualification toppers Thomas George, Vijayveer Sidhu and Neeraj Kumar, who had all shot 580, placed third to fifth respectively, ahead of Adarsh Singh, a regular member of the national team.

In the junior final, Vijayveer Sidhu topped with 31, and beat Adarsh Singh by five points. Vijayveer’s twin brother Udhayveer won the third place.

In men’s rifle 3-position event, Parul Kumar topped with 458.3, as he beat Satyendra Singh by 1.8 point. Olympian Chain Singh took the third place.

Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar won the junior event with an authoritative performance.

The results:

Men: 25m rapid fire pistol: 1. Anhad Jaanda 31 (576); 2. Gurpreet Singh 26 (578); 3. Thomas George 23 (580).

Juniors: 1. Vijayveer Sidhu 31 (580); 2. Adarsh Singh 26 (578); 3. Udhayveer Sidhu 25 (574).

50m rifle 3-position: 1. Parul Kumar 458.3; 2. Satyendra Singh 456.5;
3. Chain Singh 443.1.

Juniors: 1. Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar 453.5; .2. Harshrajsinhji
Gohil 447.9; 3. Akash Patidar 437.3.


10m air rifle: 1. Mehuli Ghosh 252.0 (627.1); 2. Shreya Agrawal 251.2. (631.4); 3. Apurvi Chandela 229.3 (626.9).

1. Mehuli Ghosh 252.2 (627.1); 2. Khushi Saini 248.8 (626.8); 3. Mansi Sudhir Singh Kathait 227.5 (624.6).

1. Zeena Khitta 252.5 (623.5); 2. Aakriti Dahiya 251.3 (624.3);
3. Amanda Sharon D’Souza 228.8 (623.6).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :