National Athletics: Davinder disappoints, Thingalaya wins

Davinder Singh won the gold with an unimpressive throw of 75.12. Siddhanth Thingalaya won the 110m hurdles with a time of 14.06s.

Published : Sep 26, 2017 22:34 IST

Davinder Singh in action at the 57th National Athletics Open Championship in Chennai on Tuesday.
Davinder Singh in action at the 57th National Athletics Open Championship in Chennai on Tuesday.

Davinder Singh in action at the 57th National Athletics Open Championship in Chennai on Tuesday.

All eyes were on Davinder Singh Kang of Services at the 57th National Open athletics championship here on Tuesday.

The 28-year-old made headlines when he became the first Indian to reach the World Championships javelin final last month. He then claimed that he was throwing the javelin to a distance of 80-83m. prior to the Nationals during training, notwithstanding the recurrent pain in the right shoulder. On the D-Day, Davinder produced a poor 75.12 to win the gold.

READ: Davinder Singh mulls Italy move

“Certainly, I am not happy. There was too much pain in the shoulder. I will train with the foreign coach Uwe Hohn next month in Patiala. He (Uwe) said, ‘I have the capacity to do much better’,” he said.

Day 1: Sarita, Tejinder clinch gold

Earlier, Siddanth Thingalaya of ONGC won the 110m hurdles with a time of 14.06seconds. The 28-year-old, who holds the National and the meet records, couldn’t perform anywhere close to his best, but won the race comfortably, with Akhil Johnson of Services finishing second with a time of 14.20s.

READ: Jumps coach aims to fly higher

On a day when there were no notable performances, Shamsheer of Railways did a world of good for himself in the men’s long jump with a personal best effort of 7.74m. The 23-year-old, a resident of Mangalore, started with 7.43m and then improved to 7.59m. He followed it up with a foul before making his jump of 7.74m. Naturally, he was thrilled. “I can’t believe that I have done it. All thanks to jumps coach Bedros Bedrosian,” said Shamsheer.

The results:

Men:110m H: 1. Siddanth Thingalaya (ONGC) 14.06s, 2. Akhil Johnson (Services) 14.20s, 3. A. Suresh (Railways) 14.23s; Long jump: 1. S.E. Shamsheer (Railways) 7.74m, 2. Sahil Mahabali (Haryana) 7.56m, 3. M. Silambarasan (Services) 7.53m; 100m: Md. Sadath (Services) 10.57s, Elakkiyadasan (TN) 10.57s, Vidya Sagar (Services) 10.60s; Javelin Throw: Davinder Singh Kang (Services) 75.12m, 2. Abhishek Singh (Services) 74.19m, 3. Sunil Bishnoi (Punjab) 74.03m.; 400m: Jithu Baby (Services) 47.08s, 2. Mohan Kumar (ONGC) 47.17s, 3. Ravinder (Haryana) 47.26s; 1500m: 1. Ajay Saroj (Railways) 3:41:93s, 2. Md. Afsal (Services) 3:46:48s, 3. Bir Singh (Haryana) 3:47:95s.

Women: 100m H: 1. Purnima Hembram (Railways) 13.89s, 2. Anurupa Kumari (Jharkhand) 13.98s, 3. Somiya (Railways) 14.32s. Shot put: Navjeet Kaur (Railways) 15.23m, 2. Kachnar Chaudhary (ONGC) 14.11m, 3. Rakhi Sangwan (Haryana) 13.76m.; 100m: 1. S. Archana (TN) 11.78s, 2. Chandra Lekha (TN) 11.92s, 3. Prajna S Prakash (Karnataka) 11.92s; 400m: 1. Soniya Baisya (West Bengal) 53.98, 2. G.K. Vijayakumari (Karnataka) 54.14s, 3. Jauna Murmu (ONGC) 54.50s.; 1500m: 1. Archana (Maharashtra) 4:18:64s, 2. Monika Chaudhary (Railways) 4:19:15s, 3. Pramila Yadav (Railways) 4:27:39s.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment