Elena Delle Donne, A'ja Wilson named WNBA All-Star captains

The starters include Liz Cambage, Chelsea Gray, Brittney Griner, Natasha Howard, Jonquel Jones, Jewell Loyd, Kayla McBride and Kia Nurse.

Published : Jul 12, 2019 10:27 IST

Elena Delle Donne has been appointed captain.
Elena Delle Donne has been appointed captain.

Elena Delle Donne has been appointed captain.

The votes are in, and the WNBA has its leading women.

The league announced on Thursday during ESPN’s “The Jump” broadcast the ten players who will start in the WNBA All-Star Game.

Washington Mystics star Elena Delle Donne and Las Vegas Aces star A’ja Wilson highlighted the list as they were each selected for the sixth time and will serve as team captains. The pair will draft the All-Star Game rosters from the pool of players voted as starters and reserves.

The starters who were named on Thursday include Las Vegas Aces' Liz Cambage, Los Angeles Sparks’ Chelsea Gray, Phoenix Mercury’s Brittney Griner, Seattle Storm’s Natasha Howard, Connecticut Sun’s Jonquel Jones, Seattle’s Jewell Loyd, Las Vegas’ Kayla McBride and New York Liberty’s Kia Nurse.

WNBA fans made up 50 percent of the vote to determine the starters, while current players and a media panel accounted for 25 percent each.

The 12 All-Star reserves will be picked by WNBA coaches and announced July 15.

The All-Star Game is slated for July 27 at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment