Afridi, Ajmal dropped from PCB central contract list

All-rounder Shahid Afridi and off-spinner Saeed Ajmal have been eliminated from the central contracts list released by the Pakistan Cricket Board for the 2016-17 season.

Shahid Afridi has not played international cricket since the 2016 World Twenty20.   -  AP

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has dropped all-rounder Shahid Afridi from the board's central contract list for 2016-17.

Afridi, a former Test, ODI and T20 captain, was in category A of the last year's central contracts list but this time he failed to find a place for himself in the list altogether.

The board has also dropped off-spinner Saeed Ajmal from the central contract list. He had been retained last time despite being banned from bowling by the ICC in 2014. Ajmal last played for Pakistan in Bangladesh in April, 2015. Also dropped from the list is left-arm pacer Junaid Khan.

Shehzad, Akmal demoted

In the new list announced on Wednesday, leg-spinner Yasir Shah has been promoted to Category A while former captains Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik were also retained in top category. PCB, meanwhile, demoted batsmen Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal to Category C.

Although the two would now be considered for national selection again, they were dropped for the tour to England on disciplinary grounds.

Interestingly, PCB has included an uncapped player, left-arm spinner Mohammad Asghar, in Category C. Asghar has been playing regularly for the Pakistan A side but is yet to make his debut for the senior team. A total of 19 players have been given Category C contracts.

Even though the PCB hasn't provided for pay increases, players in the top category will take home a monthly salary of around Rs. 5,00,000besides their match fees, other allowances and bonuses.

Category A: Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Yasir Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan.

Category B: Wahab Riaz, Asad Shafiq, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Aamir.

Category C: Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaan Masood, Mohammad Irfan, Imran Khan, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Imad Wasim, Khalid Latif, Sharjeel Khan, Hassan Ali, Sohail Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Muhammad Asghar, Zulfiqar Babar, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :