Delhi Daredevils set to bid in SA's T20 league

This will be the second instance of an IPL team investing in an overseas T20 League after the Knight Riders bought a stake in the Caribbean League franchise Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel in 2015.

The Delhi Daredevils will be the second IPL franchise after the Kolkata Knight Riders to invest in an overseas Twenty20 League.   -  Getty Images


Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Delhi Daredevils owners have reportedly put in a bid to buy a team in Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) new T20 league. Infrastructural company GMR Group, which is the owner of the Delhi Daredevils, has recruited several Proteas cricketers across the 10 seasons of the IPL.

The CSA’s T20 league, labeled as the T20 Global Destination League, will feature eight city-based teams. The competition is slated to start in early November this year and will end on December 16. It is reported that CSA has received over 150 ‘expressions of interest’ from potential owners, with about 40 percent from South Africa, 35 percent from India and smaller figures from the United Kingdom, United States and United Arab Emirates.

Lahore Qalandars, Pakistan Super League (PSL) franchise, was initially interested in bidding for a team, but has ultimately forgone the opportunity.

“Cricket South Africa was asking for 50 million rand, for 10 years, for bigger cities like Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban - and 30 million over the same period for smaller towns. This with absolutely no financial forecasts, no television deal, nothing concrete around financial forecasting - and no clarity around player quotas,” a reliable source was quoted as saying by Sport24.

“Lahore’s owners are smart businessmen and simply could not go ahead with this ambiguity attached to such a big ask. They have not put in a bid. The Daredevils have, despite not having much information,” the source added.

Eight marquee international players - Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga , Brendon McCullum, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Kieron Pollard, Jason Roy - have agreed playing league contracts with the CSA.

The local marquee players who would be featuring in the league are Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis and David Miller.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :