England vs South Africa, World Cup 2019: All you need to know

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 gets underway with England taking on South Africa in the tournament opener on Thursday.

Eoin Morgan will lead England in the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.   -  reuters

The ICC ODI World Cup is all set to commence from Thursday. Ten teams will participate in the mega event and all teams will play each other in the round-robin stage. The top four teams will qualify for the knockouts.

The 10 teams are host England, India, Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and West Indies. 48 matches will be played across 11 venues.

PHOTO STORY| ICC World Cup 2019: All 11 match venues


Kennington Oval, London


May 30, 3:00 PM (IST)

PREVIEW: Real test begins as No. 1 England launches bid against South Africa

What they said

Adil Rashid: “It's an exciting feeling being in this team as you have world-class players all around you and the opposition might get 370, but there's a belief in the dressing room we can chase it down. There is no hesitation or someone going ‘I don't know about this'. We all have that belief and confidence we can do it."

TEAM ANALYIS: South Africa

Otis Gibson: "I heard somewhere that my two very good friends Broad and Anderson have said that England will have to do something really bad not to win this World Cup. As far as they are concerned England have won it already. To play the host, the number one team, is the best way to start, because it gives us a real sense of where we are and what we need to do going forward."


Avg 1st inn score: 247

Avg 2nd inn score: 213

Highest Total: 398/5 (50 Ov) by NZ vs Eng

Lowest Total: 103/10 (41 Ov) by Eng vs RSA


England (From): Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan(c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler(w), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Tom Curran, Mark Wood, James Vince, Liam Dawson

South Africa (From): Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock(w), Faf du Plessis(c), Rassie van der Dussen, Jean-Paul Duminy, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Aiden Markram, Tabraiz Shamsi, Chris Morris

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :