India won the toss and opted to bat and the openers Rohit Sharma and K.L. Rahul made a watchful start, until Kemar Roach and the West Indies team took a review for a caught behind.
A length ball moved in sharply and went between Rohit's inside edge and the pad and Shai Hope completed a 'catch' and the slip cordon along with the bowler, the wicketkeeper went up appealing for a caught behind in an instant.
The onfield umpire, Richard Illingworth, turned it down and Holder wanted to review the decision.
The UltraEdge threw up a spike but it wasn't providing conclusive evidence as to whether the ball brushed the bat or the batsman's pad. However, much to the disbelief, the third umpire Michael Gough deemed it out and the onfield umpire's decision was reversed.
Rohit had no choice but to walk back on 18 shaking his head with India 29/1 in 6 overs.
The third umpire's decision raised quite a few eyebrows and visuals showed shocked fans, the dressing room and Rohit's wife Ritika Sajdeh visibly bewildered at the decision.
Needless to say, social media was buzzing with Rohit's dismissal.
- Sharath Kamal stresses need to appoint full-time overseas coach, high-performance director
- Sports Ministry accords recognition to Handball Association of India
- Australian Indigenous players hit out at ‘empty symbolism’ at FIFA Women’s World Cup
- Deodhar Trophy 2023: Captains in focus as North, Central eye first win
- Bronny James, son of LeBron, suffers cardiac arrest