India vs South Africa Weather Updates: Match called off after rain plays spoilsport in Bangalore; series ends tied at 2-2

IND vs SA, 5th T20I: Here are the weather updates as India takes on South Africa in the series-decider on Sunday at Bengaluru, which has witnessed persistent rains over the last couple of days.

Heavy rains at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore led to the fifth T20I between India and South Africa being called off on Sunday.   -  MURALI KUMAR K

Hello and welcome to the weather updates from the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, where India and South Africa lock horns in the fifth and final T20I of the bilateral series.

21:44 IST: The news is not good. Play has been called off officially and the series ends tied at 2-2.

21:32 IST: Play can resume, at the latest, by 10:02 PM IST, say the umpires, who reiterate that the rain has to stop completely for play to be possible.

21:15 IST: Here is what our correspondent at the venue has to say. The Bangalore continues to amuse, with people staying a kilometre away from the ground saying that there is no rain in their vicinity.

20:57 IST: As we wait for play to resume or another update on the revised playing conditions, here is a read on the drainage system at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium by Ashwin Achal.


20:20 IST: The rain has not relented, although it seems to have reduced to something of a drizzle now.

20:10 IST: The match started at 7:50 PM IST but has been interrupted again after another spell of showers. The covers are coming on again.

The match will begin at 7:50 PM IST after the rain delay. Play has been reduced to 19 overs per side.

The covers are also coming off and play should start anytime now.

The latest from the middle is that the rain has stopped and the super-soppers are at work. Play should start soon.

Quite a disappointment for the players and fans. The fielders had come out and the openers were out in the middle too when a slight drizzle began and delayed the start of play. The covers are out and it has started pouring here at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

The toss and start of play will go ahead as per schedule as the rains have relented in Bangalore. The flip of the coin will take place at 6:30 PM IST, with the match starting at 7:00 PM IST.

18:17 IST: The stage is set for the series-decider. The players are practicing on the ground and there are no signs of rain yet. The toss will go ahead as per schedule at 6:30 PM IST. Meanwhile, South Africa has suffered a blow with captain Temba Bavuma ruled out of the match owing to his elbow injury in the last game which forced him to retire hurt early in the innings.


17:44 IST: The rain gods seemed to have shown mercy. There is no rain yet at Bangalore. The likelihood of rain at 18:30 IST - toss time - has further dropped to 24 percent.

16:53 IST: Good news, according to the weather forecast. The likelihood of rain over the next couple of hours has seen a dramatic fall. It has slipped from 89 percent at 18:30 IST to 32% for the corresponding time.

16:42 IST: Currently it is not raining in Bengaluru, but it continues to be slightly overcast. However, there is an 84 percent chance of rain at around 5:30 PM IST, so it will be important to see whether the skies hold up over the next couple of hours.

Here is the hourly weather forecast for Bengaluru, according to

  • 18:30 IST - 26 degrees Celsius - Partly Cloudy - 24% chance of rain
  • 19:30 IST - 23 degrees Celsius - Partly Cloudy - 21% chance of rain
  • 20:30 IST - 23 degrees Celsius - Partly Cloudy - 19% chance of rain
  • 21:30 IST - 22 degrees Celsius - Mostly Cloudy - 18% chance of rain
  • 22:30 IST - 22 degrees Celsius - Mostly Cloudy - 17% chance of rain
  • 23:30 IST - 21 degrees Celsius - Mostly Cloudy - 17% chance of rain


India: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (c) (wk), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan.

South Africa: Reeza Hendricks, Quinton de Kock (wk), Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj (c), Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Anrich Nortje.


India: Rishabh Pant (c) (wk), Hardik Pandya (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Rassie van der Dussen, Wayne Parnell, Dwayne Pretorius, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Tristan Stubbs, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi.


The fifth T20I between India and South Africa will be aired LIVE on the Star Sports Network at 7:00 PM IST on Sunday, June 19. The match will also be available for live streaming on Disney+Hotstar.