ECB confirms a long English summer for India

India will begin the series with 3 T20Is followed by 3 ODIs. In the last leg of the tour, the teams will battle it out in a five-Test series.

Published : Sep 05, 2017 16:15 IST

The Indian team has an elaborate itinerary in England next summer.
The Indian team has an elaborate itinerary in England next summer.

The Indian team has an elaborate itinerary in England next summer.

India will tour England in 2018 for a full series comprising five Tests, three ODIs and three T20Is, the England and Wales Cricket Board confirmed on Tuesday.

As part of England's home schedule for the 2018, the ECB has slotted a chunk of Test matches against India. The five Test matches will take place at Edgbaston, Lord's, Trent Bridge, the Ageas Bowl and The Oval.

India was defeated 3-1 in its last Test series in England(2014), but was a 4-0 victor when the teams met on the subcontinent last year.

As part of preparations for the 2019 World Cup, England will test out its skills with a limited overs series against Australia including five ODIs and one T20 in June.

The India series will get underway just a week later with the first T20 slated for July 3.

“A five-Test series against India is at the heart of next summer’s international programme. This is always a much-anticipated contest which attracts a huge following across the globe for the five-day game,"ECB Chief Executive Officer Tom Harrison said.

England will begin its home stretch with a two-Test series against Pakistan.

As for India, it will complete its Asia Cup assignment in June before heading to England for the long series.

India is likely to begin 2018 in South Africa and is slotted to play four Tests and limited overs series. The tour is tentatively scheduled for January-February though talks are on for India to begin the series on Boxing Day. The subcontinental team will then host neighbour Sri Lanka in March (3 Tests, 5 ODIs, 1 T20I*).

India tour of England (in BST)

3 July – 1st  T20I,  Emirates Old Trafford (5.30pm)
6 July – 2nd T20I, 
SSE SWALEC, Cardiff (5.30pm)
8 July – 3rd T20I, 
The Brightside Ground, Bristol (2pm)
12 July – 1st ODI, 
Trent Bridge (12.30pm)
14 July – 2nd ODI, 
Lord’s (11am)
17 July – 3rd ODI, 
Emerald Headingley (12.30pm)
1-5 August – 1st Test, 
9-13 August – 2nd Test, 
18-22 August – 3rd Test, 
Trent Bridge
30 August-3 September – 4th Test, 
Ageas Bowl
7-11 September – 5th Test, 
Kia Oval        

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment