Promoters of Kings XI Punjab buy CPL side St. Lucia Zouks

The promoters of IPL's Kings XI Punjab, KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited, have bought St. Lucia Zouks, becoming the second set of IPL owners to currently run a CPL side.

St. Lucia Zouks

Representative image: Promoters of Kings XI Punjab becomes the second set of IPL owners to currently run a CPL franchise.   -  Brian Jackson

The promoters of Kings XI Punjab --  KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited -- have bought the Caribbean Premier League franchise St. Lucia Zouks.

With this acquisition, they become the second set of IPL owners to currently run a CPL franchise -- after Kolkata Knight Riders, which owns the Trinbago Knight Riders.

Mohit Burman, one of the Zouks' new co-owners, said: "We are excited at the opportunity to invest in one of the most exciting sporting tournaments in the world, and we have been impressed by the vibrancy of CPL over the last seven years."

"We visualise taking the franchise to the next level and showcasing St. Lucia in the best possible light over the coming years.

Read: IPL 2020 auction: Cummins, Maxwell big overseas buys; Chawla top Indian draw

"Previously, Vijay Mallya owned both Royal Challengers Bangalore and Barbados Tridents.

CPL CEO Pete Russell said, “We are hugely excited to welcome this ownership team to the CPL family and we are looking forward to seeing where they take the Zouks during the upcoming season and beyond. They bring with them a wealth of experience which is fantastic news for both the CPL and St Lucia as a whole. During the 2019 tournament, the CPL made a positive economic impact of US$13,670,260 in St Lucia and this new ownership group will be working hard to see this figure increase."

The Zouks have been part of the CPL since the league’s inception making the playoffs during the 2016 season. It plays its home games at the Daren Sammy International Cricket Ground, a stadium named after the man who has captained the side for six of its seven seasons. Last year the Zouks team featured Sammy, Fawad Ahmed, Rahkeem Cornwall, Andre Fletcher, Colin de Grandhomme and Thisara Perera.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :