Ranji Trophy: Andhra restricts HP to 357

Andhra restricted Himachal Pradesh to 357 and responded with 47 for the loss of one wicket at the end of Day 3 play in Bhubaneswar on Friday.

Published : Oct 08, 2016 19:26 IST , Bhubaneswar

Ch. Stephen took three wickets for Andhra.
Ch. Stephen took three wickets for Andhra.

Ch. Stephen took three wickets for Andhra.

Andhra restricted Himachal Pradesh to 357 on day three of their Ranji Group C match at the Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT) stadium here on Saturday. The southern side responded with 47 for the loss of K.S. Bharat.


The start to Andhra’s chase wasn’t exactly auspicious, Bharat was rapped on the pads by Rishi Dhawan. That forced D.B. Prashanth and No. 3 batsman Hanuma Vihari to bring the shutters down. The two showed prudence was the better part of valour, holding their own and the innings together in rapidly fading light.

More importantly, they negotiated some hostile bowling from Dhawan and his pacemen, the forward defensive making its appearance all too frequently. In between, skipper Vihari picked the gaps as did Prashanth, the duo despatching the ball to the ropes seven times between them.

Play resumed at 2.30 pm after the dampness from the morning rains was dried by warm sunshine in the afternoon. Aided by the new ball, the pacey pair of Bandaru Ayyappa and Ch. Stephen cleaned up the tail, that had begun to look threatening on the opening day. Stephen snatched the caught and bowled chance from R.K. Singh, while the nippy Ayyappa castled S. N. Nirmohi.

The prized scalp of the innings went to Bhargav Bhatt, the southpaw and tweaker trapping Sumeet Varma in front to bring the curtains down on HP’s innings. The middle-order batsman had played the role of marauder to near perfection, plundering three sixes and 17 boundaries in a 194-ball 142.

The scores (round one, day three):

Group A

At Jaipur: Baroda 544 for eight decl. vs. Gujarat 277 for four in 105 overs (Samit Gohil 43, Bhargav Merai 70, Manpreet Juneja 66 batting, Rujul Bhatt 38 batting)

At Lahli: Tamil Nadu 87 & 185 in 62.4 overs (Abhinav Mukund 56, Washington Sundar 40, Dhawal Kulkarni six for 47, Vijay D. Gohil three for 36) lost to Mumbai 176 & 97 for eight in 35.3 overs (Abhishek Nayar 45 n.o., Aswin Crist four for 43, K. Vignesh four for 29)

At New Delhi (Palam): Railways 331 & 180 for two in 67 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 56 retired hurt, Shivakant Shukla 83 batting, Mahesh Rawat 34 batting) vs. Punjab 215 in 80.1 overs (Uday Kaul 61, Gurkeerat Mann 66, Manjeet Chaudhary four for 56)

At Hyderabad: Madhya Pradesh 465 & 118 for two in 53 overs (Tanmay Srivastava 60 batting) vs. Uttar Pradesh 176 in 63.2 overs (Eklavya Dwivedi 37, Kuldeep Yadav 36, Ishwar Pandey three for 65, Gourav Yadav four for 44)

Group B

At Vizianagaram: Saurashtra 430 vs. Rajasthan 62 for one in 19 overs (Manender Singh 44 batting)

At Visakhapatnam: Odisha 150 & 74 for no loss in 22 overs (Sandeep Pattnaik 40 batting) vs. Vidarbha 272 for six decl. in 102 overs (Faiz Fazal 99, Ganesh Satish 74, Deepak Behera three for 35)

At New Delhi (Karnail Singh stadium): Maharashtra 210 & 188 in 61.4 overs (Rahul Tripathi 32, Kedar Jadhav 56, Ashish Kumar three for 44, Shahbaz Nadeem three for 43) vs. Jharkhand 306 in 105.2 overs (Kaushal Singh 130, Virat Singh 46, Saurabh Tiwary 33, Shrikant Mundhe four for 102, Anupam Sanklecha five for 71) & 56 for four in 13 overs

At Vadodara: Assam 193 & 100 for three in 37 overs (Rahul Hazarika 40, Amit Verma 33 batting) vs. Delhi 589 for eight decl. in 128.1 overs (Unmukt Chand 55, Nitish Rana 146, Rishabh Pant 146, Pradeep Sangwan 100 n.o., Milind Kumar 92, Abu Nechim five for 106)

Group C

At Bhubaneswar: Himachal 357 in 93.2 overs (Stephen three for 74) vs. Andhra 47 for one in 14 overs

At Ranchi: Tripura 118 & 149 in 84.3 (Ajay Mandal four for 55) overs lost to Chhattisgarh 255 & 13 for one in 3.5 overs

At Nagpur: Goa 164 & five for no loss in 2.3 overs vs. Hyderabad 388 in 130 overs (Akshath Reddy 128, Bavanaka Sandeep 108, Mehdi Hasan 62, S. Badrinath 41, Amit Yadav three for 73)

At Mumbai: Services 197 & 148 for two in 44 overs (Nakul Verma 54 batting, Aanshul Gupta 40, Soumik Chatterjee 33) vs. Haryana 248 in 89.5 overs (Shubham Rohilla 92, Joginder Sharma 46 n.o., Rajat Paliwal 33, Khalid Ahmad four for 86, Vikas Yadav four for 80)

At Kalyani: Kerala 306 in 102.1 overs (Sanju Samson 154, Jalaj Saxena 69, Samiullah Beigh six for 82, Ram Dayal three for 88) vs. Jammu & Kashmir 106 for five in 29 overs (Adil Reshi 40, Iqbal Abdullah three for 32)

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment