MCA elections: Vijay Patil elected president, Naik chosen BCCI AGM representative

Former India cricketers Sachin Tendulkar, Sandeep Patil, Dilip Vengsarkar, Zaheer Khan, Jatin Paranjape and few others cast their votes for the first time.

Published : Oct 04, 2019 15:06 IST , Mumbai

The newly elected MCA committee members.
The newly elected MCA committee members.

The newly elected MCA committee members.

Dr. Vijay Patil has been elected the president of Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) unopposed on Friday, while Sanjay Naik and Amol Kale were elected as secretary and vice-president respectively.

The polling was held for only a few posts as the president, vice-president and secretary -- all part of the Bal Mahaddalkar group -- were already elected unopposed, with the opposition pulling out their nominations for those positions.

MCA’s electoral officer, D.N. Chaudhari, declared Jagdish Achrekar as elected the treasurer as he won over Mayank Khandwala 189-128.

There was a contest between Sangam Lad and Shaikh Shahalam for the joint secretary’s position. In the end, Shahalam had the last laugh, winning it 196-121.

Prof Dr Unmesh Khanvilkar, Ajinkya Naik, Gaurav Payyade, Vihang Sarnaik, Abhay Hadap, Kaushik Godbole, Amit Dani, Nadim Menon, and Khodadad Yazdegardi were elected the apex council members.

Former India cricketers Sachin Tendulkar, Sandeep Patil, Dilip Vengsarkar, Zaheer Khan, Jatin Paranjape, Sameer Dighe, Vinod Kambli, Pravin Amre, Sanjay Bangar, Ramesh Powar, Nilesh Kulkarni cast their votes for the first time, along with Umesh Kulkarni, Sudhir Naik and Milind Rege.

Naik to represent Mumbai at BCCI AGM

After the results were declared, the MCA chief, Patil said that the association’s secretary, Sanjay Naik, will be representing the association in the BCCI’s Annual General Meeting, to be held on October 23.

“As far as the representation in the BCCI is concerned, the managing committee has unanimously decided to nominate Naik as the MCA representative,” Patil said, making it clear that no other names were discussed.  

The newly elected president made it clear that he would like to have an ‘MCA representation’ in the BCCI Apex Council too. “We will discuss with all the stakeholders and if the situation arises, the association will be happy to have a representation in the apex council,” Patil said.

Call on CIC later

The MCA had formed a Cricket Improvement Committee, comprising Dilip Vengsarkar, Kiran Mokashi, Raju Kulkarni and Karsan Ghavri. Now with a new managing committee in place, will the same CIC continue remains to be seen.

Patil said he will deliberate on the matter with the members before taking a call. “Mumbai is fortunate to have so many international cricketers who have played at the highest level. So, we would definitely make a concerted effort to make sure that we can take the advantage of wealth of talent Mumbai cricket has,” the newly appointed president said.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment