Tom Latham to captain New Zealand for Bangladesh ODIs

Latham will step in as captain in the absence of Kane Williamson, who is injured.

New Zealand wicketkeeper-batsman, Tom Latham.   -  AP

Wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham will captain New Zealand in the absence of injured regular skipper Kane Williamson for the one-day international series against Bangladesh, New Zealand Cricket said on Thursday.

Latham leads a squad featuring three potential debutants in Devon Conway, Will Young and Daryl Mitchell for the three-game series which starts in Dunedin on March 20. Williamson was ruled out this week with an elbow injury after guiding the Black Caps to a 3-2 Twenty20 series win over Australia on Sunday. “Whilst it’s disappointing to lose a player of Kane’s class, Tom has proven experience in taking the reins and I know he’s excited to lead the side,” selector Gavin Larsen said in a media release.

Paceman Lockie Ferguson was ruled out as he continues his rehabilitation from a back injury and all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme is set for surgery on a troublesome right ankle which hampered him throughout the 2020-21 season.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead said he was “gutted” for De Grandhomme but hoped he would be fit for the Test tour of England.

ALSO READ | Jos Buttler picks India as favourite for T20 World Cup

New Zealand is slated to play two Tests against England and the June 18-22 final of the World Test Championship against India in Southampton. “We’re hopeful following surgery and rehabilitation (De Grandhomme) will be a chance to make the squad,” said Stead.

In De Grandhomme’s absence, Mitchell will be the third all-rounder in the 13-man squad against Bangladesh alongside James Neesham and Mitchell Santner. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the series will be New Zealand’s first one-day international competition since a defeat to Australia in Sydney in March 13, 2020.

Latham is in line to play a long-awaited 100th ODI in the series-opener in Dunedin, with Canterbury team-mate Henry Nicholls to play his 50th.

  • Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham (c), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Will Young.