Asian Cup holders Australia draw Syria in World Cup play-off rematch

Syria will have a chance to gain revenge for their World Cup play-off defeat to Australia during the 2019 Asian Cup.

Published : May 04, 2018 23:23 IST

Asian Cup holders Australia have been grouped with Syria, Palestine and Jordan in the group stage for the 2019 tournament.

Australia beat Syria in a play-off to qualify for the 2018 World Cup, but the Qasioun Eagles have been given a chance to get one over on the Socceroos.

Japan, seeking to add to their record four Asian Cup crowns, will face Uzbekistan, Oman and Turkmenistan in Group F, hosts United Arab Emirates take on Thailand, India and Bahrain in Group A, while China and South Korea are in Group C along with Kyrgyzstan and Philippines.

The 2019 Asian Cup has been expanded from 16 teams to 24 nations for the first time, with the competition set to run from January 5 to February 1.

Asian Cup draw in full: 

Group A: UAE, Thailand, India, Bahrain

Group B: Australia, Syria, Palestine, Jordan

Group C: South Korea, China, Kyrgyzstan, Philippines

Group D: Iran, Iraq, Vietnam, Yemen

Group E: Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Lebanon, North Korea

Group F: Japan, Uzbekistan, Oman, Turkmenistan

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment