Marta and Pedros win FIFA Best awards

Marta picked up the Women's Player prize at the FIFA Best awards, while Lyon boss Reynald Pedros was also among the winners.

Published : Sep 25, 2018 08:14 IST

Brazil superstar Marta
Brazil superstar Marta

Brazil superstar Marta

Marta picked up the Women's Player prize at the FIFA Best Awards, while Lyon's triumph in the Women's Champions League was also recognised.

Reflecting Real Madrid's dominance in the men's equivalent, Lyon - 16 times French champions - stormed to their third straight Champions League win, becoming the first women's team to do so.

But it was Brazil star Marta, often regarded as the best female player of all time having scored 15 World Cup goals, who edged out Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg - who registered a record 15 goals in the successful Champions League campaign - and Dzsenifer Marozsan to the award.

Lyon's triumph was recognised in the Best Women's Coach award section, however, as Reynald Pedros - a former France international - saw off competition from Japan's Asako Takakura and Sarina Wiegman of the Netherlands.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment