Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 draw HIGHLIGHTS: England, Spain join India in Pool D; Australia, Argentina in Pool A

Hockey men’s world cup 2023 draw: Get the highlights of the world cup draw that happened at Lok Sewa Bhavan convention center, Bhubaneshwar on September 8th 2022.

Published : Sep 08, 2022 10:31 IST

India’s last outing was when it suffered a crushing 0-7 defeat against Australia at the Commonwealth Games 2022.
India’s last outing was when it suffered a crushing 0-7 defeat against Australia at the Commonwealth Games 2022. | Photo Credit: PTI

India’s last outing was when it suffered a crushing 0-7 defeat against Australia at the Commonwealth Games 2022. | Photo Credit: PTI

Hello and welcome to Sportstar’s highlights of Hockey men’s world cup 2023 draw.

This is how the pools look after the draw:

Pool A: Australia, Argentina, France and South Africa

Pool B: Belgium, Germany, South Korea and Japan

Pool C: Netherlands, New Zealand, Malaysia and Chile

Pool D: India, England, Spain and Wales

  • That is it for today and the world cup draw comes to a close. Some mouth watering clashes to watch out for!
  • On to the final card now, Argentina joins pool A along with Australia, France and South Africa
  • Ranked fourth in the world rankings, Germany’s card is drawn next. It will occupy the 2nd spot in pool B
  • New Zealand up next will complete pool C along with Netherlands, Malaysia and Chile
  • England joins India, Spain and Wales in pool D. England vs India will be a match up to watch out for!!
  • It is now time to decide teams that will take the second spot in each of the pools
  • In pool A, France’s card is drawn and it will square off with Australia and South Africa
  • Now on to B3, South Korea it is. It will join the World and Asian champions in pool B
  • Malaysia joins Netherlands and Chile in pool C
  • First up, it’s Spain and they will join pool D
  • We now move to the draw which will decide the teams that will occupy the 3rd spot in each of the pools
  • South Africa is placed in pool A. We will see a Commonwealth Games rematch as the Proteas join Australia’s pool
  • Champions of Asia Japan will join Belgium in Pool B
  • Chile has been drawn and it will occupy the fourth row in Pool C
  • Wales will join India in pool D
  • The rest of the draw draw will start with Row 4 of each Pool, involving the following teams: South Africa, Wales, Japan and Chile.

Teams that have earned a direct entry into the four pools before the draw (based on world ranking as of June 2022):

Pool A: Australia (1)

Pool B: Belgium (2)

Pool C: The Netherlands (3)

Pool D: India (Host nation) (5)

  • FIRST UP, IT IS INDIA. Odisha CM Patnaik announces that India is placed in group D.
  • FIH CEO Thierry Weil is addressing the audience and he will kickstart the proceedings very soon. India has automatically qualified as it is the host nation.
  • India is set to become the only nation to host the FIH hockey men’s world cup four times.
  • The draw is just minutes away as Odisha Cheif Minister Naveen Patnaik enters the stage. Tusharkanti Behera, sports minister of Odisha, FIH CEO Thierry Weil and member of COA, Hockey India S. Y. Quraishi are present along with an array of notable names associated with the sport and the state.
  • It will then continue with Row 3 of each Pool (involving Spain, Malaysia, France and Korea) and conclude with Row 2 of each Pool (with Germany, England, Argentina and New Zealand).

FIH hockey men’s world cup 2023 draw is set to happen in Bhubaneshwar today at 12 p.m IST, involving 16 participating countries including the likes of India, Japan, England and top ranked Australia.

The draw will be conducted by FIH CEO Thierry Weil, with the Chief Minister of Odisha, Shri Naveen Patnaik also in attendance.

The Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023 will take place at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneshwar and at the Bisra Munda Stadium in Rourkela from January 13 to 29, 2023. Belgium is the reigning champion. It came on top against Netherlands in the 2018 final to win it’s first ever title.

The 16 participating teams will be divided among four pools, with each group having four teams.

The top row team of each group is decided beforehand based on their rankings. India being the host, gets an edge over fourth placed Germany and will occupy the top row of pool D. Australia, Belgium and Netherlands are the top three teams that will start at the top of their corresponding pools.

India currently sits fifth on the FIH men’s hockey ranking 2394.49 points. Australia tops the list with 2951.92 points followed by Belgium with 2842.77 points.

Men’s hockey top 10 rankings*:

Rank Team Points
1 Australia 2951.92
2 Belgium 2842.77
3 Netherlands 2746.53
4 Germany 2440.06
5 India 2394.49
6 England 2258.80
7 Argentina 2082.44
8 Spain 1849.52
9 New Zealand 1778.44
10 Malaysia 1666.59

Streaming information: The draw ceremony will be streamed live on the Watch Hockey app.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment