ATK signs former Bengaluru FC man Edu Garcia and Pritam Kotal

ATK signs Edu Garcia from Zhejiang Greentown FC and right back Pritam Kotal from Delhi Dynamos in the January transfer Window.

Edu Garcia celebrates after scoring against Mumbai City FC for Bengaluru FC.   -  AFP

Indian Super League side ATK has added midfielder Edu Garcia and defender Pritam Kotal to its squad as the two-time champion pushes for a place in the play-offs.

Garcia is a versatile winger, who can play on both flanks and is known for creating chances down the wings. The 28-year-old previously played in the competition with Bengaluru FC, whom he had left to join Chinese Super League side Zhejiang Greentown FC in February this year. Garcia was Bengaluru's first-ever goal-scorer in the ISL.

ATK has also signed a defensive reinforcement in Delhi Dynamos skipper Kotal, who returns to the club after his successful loan spell in 2016.

Pritam Kotal spent a year on loan at ATK in 2016 from Mohun Bagan. PHOTO: ISL/SPORTZPICS


Speaking on the new additions, coach Steve Coppell stated, "The additions made to the squad are positive and we are quite excited to bring the new players on board. We hope that they can deliver and excite the fans through their performances on the pitch. We will begin training after the international break and assess how soon they can be integrated to our main squad. We look forward to a bright start in 2019."

ATK is currently sixth on the table with 16 points and is four points off the fourth-placed NorthEast United. With just a solitary win from last five matches, Coppell will hope for a winning return in 2019 when the competition resumes after the AFC Asian Cup.

ATK's squad

Indian players: Debjit Majumder, Pritam Kotal, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Jayesh Rane, Arindam Bhattacharya, Avilash Paul, Arnab Mondal, Hitesh Sharma, Ankit Mukherjee, Aiborlang Khongjee, Ricky Lallawmawma, Pronay Halder, Cavin Lobo, H Lalmaunkima, Komal Thatal, Balwant Singh

Overseas players: John Johnson, Manuel Lanzarote Bruno, Kalu Uche, Gerson Fraga Vieira, A. Bikey-Amougou, N. El Maimouni, Edu Garcia, Éverton Santos


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :