Vishwadev Muraleedharan of Sparks Racing was declared champion rider of the Group D (165cc, Novice) class in the MMSC-FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle racing championship which concluded at the MMRT track on Sunday following the disqualification of Kannan Karnan (Motor-Rev Yamaha) for a technical infringement.

Kannan was the provisional winner of both the races in the final round giving him the title but was subsequently stripped of the 50 points he had earned after post-race scrutiny of his machine.

Consequently, Vishwadev and Aravind Balakrishnan (United Tech Torque Racing) were tied on 130 points. However, Vishwadev clinched the title on the back of his four wins compared to Aravind’s one.

The final list of champions (rider, team and manufacturer):

Group B (165cc, Open) - Champion rider: Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing). Team and Manufacturer Championships: TVS Racing.

Group C (165cc, Open) - Champion rider: Mathana Kumar S. (Ten10 Racing). Team Championship: Ten10 Racing. Manufacturer Championship: Honda.

Group D (165cc, Novice) - Champion rider: Vishwadev Muraleedharan (Sparks Racing). Team Championship: Sparks Racing. Manufacturer Championship: Yamaha.