Arvind Mani scripted national record along with three others on the third day of the 70th Glenmark National Aquatics Championship at the V. B. B. Stadium here on Monday.

The 20-year-old Karnataka swimmer produced an excellent performance to register 2:05.46 and break Rohit Havaldar's three-year-old record of 2:06.23 on his way to bag the men's 200m backstroke gold medal. Arvind preserved his energy in the first 100m and made a spirited dash in the later half to outsmart Services' Madhu P. S., who settled for the silver with 2:07.02 following a close fight with another Karnataka swimmer N. Srihari (2:07.13).

“I was disappointed that I could not do my best in my favourite event, 200m individual medley, but now I am happy to have made up for it. In the first half of the race I just wanted to be in the leading pack and push hard later,” said Arvind.

Rio Olympics participants Sajan Prakash and Shiwani Kataria also scripted national records in men's 100m butterfly and women's 200m freestyle events respectively. Sajan's commanding display helped him clock 54.43 and better Asian Games bronze medallist Veerdhawal Khade's national record of 54.59 set last year in Rajkot.

Taking confidence from her Rio Olympics participation, Shiwani timed 2:06.97 to smash Richa Mishra's 2011 record (2:07.29) by 0.32 second. In fact, Shiwani's performance was far better than her 2:09.30 in the Rio Games. Shiwani was delighted to have improved her timing even without doing much training ahead of the Championship. “My plan was to have a smooth first 100m and a strong last 100m,” said Shiwani.

Gujarat, represented by Maana Patel, Anshul Kothari, Smith Sharma and Dilpreet Kaur, won a thrilling photo finish to rewrite the mixed 4x50m medley record and claim the top honour. Gujarat timed 1:53.42 to erase Maharashtra's previous record of 1:54.13 set in 2015. Karnataka, which was 0.03 sec slower than Gujarat, came a close second.


Swimming: Freestyle: Men's 1500m: 1. Saurabh Sangvekar (RSPB) 16:15.81, 2. Aryan Makhija (Mah) 16:23.87, 3. Sanu Debnath (RSPB) 16:25.01; Women's 200m: 1. Shiwani Kataria (Har) 2:06.97 (NR, previous 2:07.29, Richa Mishra, 2011), 2. Aditi Dhumatkar (Mah) 2:08.09, 3. Damini K. Gowda (Kar) 2:09.94. Backstroke: Men's 200m: 1. Arvind Mani (Kar) 2:05.46 (NR, previous 2:06.23, Rohit Havaldar, 2013), 2. Madhu P.S. (SSCB) 2:07.02, 3. N. Srihari (Kar) 2:07.13; Women's 200m: 1. Maana Patel (Guj) 2:22.65, 2. Yuga Birnale (Mah) 2:28.35, 3. Shreyanti Pan (Ben) 2:31.78. Butterfly: Men's 100m: 1. Sajan Prakash (RSPB) 54.43 (NR, previous 54.59, Veerdhawal Khade, 2015), 2. Supriyo Mondal (RSPB) 55.19, 3. Aman Ghai (Pun) 56.38; Women's 100m: Damini K. Gowda (Kar) 1:04.31, 2. Mayuri Lingaraj (Kar) 1:05.18, 3. Trisha Karkhanis (Mah) 1:05.60. Mixed 4x50m medley: 1. Gujarat 1:53.42 (NR, previous 1:54.13, Maharashtra, 2015), 2. Karnataka 1:53.45, 3. Maharashtra 1:55.27.

Diving: 1m spring board: Men: 1. K. Ramananda Sharma (SSCB) 297.50, 2. Gaurav Raghuvanshi (RSPB) 269.05, 3. T. Hariprasad (RSPB) 263.45; Women: 1. Simran Rajani (Mah) 167.30, 2. Tanuka Dhara (RSPB) 145.85, 3. Titiksha Marathe (MP) 139.20.

Waterpolo: Men: Maharashtra bt Karnataka 10-0; Punjab bt Manipur 5-4; All India Police bt Bengal 5-3; Kerala bt Delhi 11-2; Women: Bengal bt All India Police 5-1; Karnataka bt Manipur 12-0.