National boxing championships: Dagar floors Harish

Relying on power and endurance, the 23-year-old unleashed a flurry of punches on Harish.

Published : Oct 27, 2018 21:23 IST , PUNE

Railways boxer Dinesh Dagar.
Railways boxer Dinesh Dagar.

Railways boxer Dinesh Dagar.

Promising Dinesh Dagar turned out to be an ideal replacement for the seasoned Manoj Kumar in the Railways squad as the dashing Delhi boxer outsmarted Tamil Nadu’s Harish Kumar in a 69kg first round bout on the opening day of the National boxing championships at the Army Sports Institute here on Saturday.

Relying on power and endurance, the 23-year-old unleashed a flurry of punches on Harish. The taller Harish retreated and escaped a few blows initially, but had no answer to Dinesh’s aggression eventually.

The referee stopped the contest in the final round after the Tamil Nadu boxer received three standing counts.

The road ahead will be tougher for Dinesh as the weight features prominent boxers like Duryodhan Singh Negi and Mandeep Jangra.

Maharashtra's Ananta Chopade made a bright start. The 20-year-old, who had bagged a bronze medal in the 2016 edition, displayed a fine game to beat Manjeet Singh of Himachal 5-0 in a 52kg clash.

The Akola lad's alertness and smooth footwork helped him stay safe from the attacks of Manjeet. Chopade resorted to his timely counter-attacks to advance to the second round.

Tara Heli Tana of Arunachal Pradesh spectacularly knocked out Ankit Chauhan of Uttar Pradesh in a 49kg contest.

The bout, which lasted for less than three minutes, had several dramatic moments. It was Tana who received a standing count before returning the favour. Tana's powerful right cross floored Chauhan and sealed the issue.

For the first time, Andaman and Nicobar entered five boxers.

Important results (preliminary round): 49kg: Himanshu Sharma (Pun) bt S.K. Routh (WB) 5-0; Tara Heli Tana (Aru) bt Ankit Chauhan KO-R1; Mridupaban Baruah (Asm) bt A. Praveen (Pud) RSC-R2.

52kg: Manoj Kumar (Pun) bt Phurba Sherpa (Sik) 5-0; P. Lyngdognonglait (Meg) bt Teron Ajay (Asm) 4-1; Ananta Chopade (Mah) bt Manjeet Singh (HP) 5-0.

56kg: Roshan Sain (Raj) bt Tahir Shaik (Guj) 5-0; Sandeep Malik (AIP) bt Ansula Basumatary (Asm) 5-0; V. Bharany (Pud) bt Suraj Singh (WB) 3-2.

60kg: Vijay Kummar (Pun) bt G. Niraj Kumar (Tel) RSC-R3; Syngkli Wanbuddien (AIP) bt Sumit Vaihnav (Raj) 5-0.

64kg: Dalvir Tomar (SSCB) bt Sahil (And) 5-0; Chander Mohan (HP) bt Manish Tanwar (Har) 3-2; Yogesh Tokas (Del) bt Zomuansanga (Miz) 4-1; J. Sabari (TN) bt Yadu Parmanik (Nag) 5-0.

69kg: M. Elangbam (Man) bt Sairaj Pauskar (Goa) 5-0; Dinesh Dagar (RSPB) bt Harish Kumar (TN) RSC-R3; Chander Bahadur Tomang (Kar) bt Prasad Vadisala (AP) 5-0.

75kg: Ajay Singh Kanyal (Utk) bt Kapil Sharma (MP) 4-1; Bonel Singh (Man) bt A. Siva Reddy (AP) 5-0; Manjeet Singh (SSCB) bt Debajit Borah (Nag) 5-0; Faiz Ahemad (AIP) bt Prashant (Kar) 5-0.

81kg: Mrunal Bhosale (Mah) bt Nazam Mohil-ul-din (JK) 5-0; Gurpreet Singh (Pun) bt Sherin Cleetus (Ker) 5-0; M. Saikalyan Goud (TS) bt Sandeep Shama (Guj) 4-1.

91kg: Akshay Kumar (Sik) bt Susil Raj (TN) 5-0; Sawan Gill (Chd) bt Devashish Chahal (Utk) 5-0.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment