Ajay Kumar Reddy to lead India in T20 World Cup for Blind

President Mahantesh GK said that the BCCI has assured to suport the CABI for the T20 World Cup.

Ajay Kumar Reddy led the Indian team in T20 Asia Cup in 2016 also.   -  Special arrangement

Ajay Kumar Reddy (Andhra) will lead the Indian team at the second T20 World Cup for the Blind, which will be hosted across the nation from January 28 to February 12 in 2017. This announcement was made during a press conference by the Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI) President Mahantesh GK. Prakasha Jayaramaiah (Karnataka) is the vice-captain.

CABI also announced its association with IndusInd Bank in support of the national side. The bank launched the 'World Champions Programme - Cricket for the Blind', an initiative of the Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled, to aid the Indian Blind Cricket team in its quest for glory.

IndusInd Bank will provide players with support and infrastructure to participate, besides logistic assistance as the players travel across the country, to share its success stories and encourage other visually-impaired youngsters.

Mahantesh also mentioned that the BCCI has assured to suport the CABI for the T20 World Cup. He also announced that winners will get Rs 20 lakhs and the runner-up will get Rs 15 lakh.

Indian squad: Ajay Kumar Reddy (captain, Andhra), Prakasha Jayaramaiah (vice-captain, Karnataka), Deepak Malik, Rambir Singh (both Haryana), Sukhram Majhi, Md Jafar Iqbal (both Odisha), T. Durga Rao, D. Venkateswara Rao, Prem Kumar G. (all Andhra), Sunil R. (Karnataka), Ganeshbhai Muhundkar, Ketanbhai Patel (Gujarat), Md Faisal (Uttar Pradesh), Md Farhan (Kerala), Sonu Golkar (Madhya Pradesh), Golu Kunar (Jharkhand) and Anish Beg (Maharashtra).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :