BCCI Elections: What happens, who votes, who will be the new president

All eyes will be on Sourav Ganguly at the BCCI general body meeting on Wednesday when he will formally take charge as the president of the cricket body.

Former India skipper Sourav Ganguly will formally take charge as BCCI president on Wednesday.

After almost three years, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will hold its general body meeting -- which will end the Committee of Administrators (CoA) role at the Board.

While the CoA will chair Wednesday’s meeting, which will witness former India captain, Sourav Ganguly, formally taking charge as the chief of the BCCI, the newly formed committee will have to call an Annual General Meeting with a 21-day prior notice as per the new BCCI constitution.

The agenda of the meeting calls for the adoption of the audited accounts of the BCCI for the financial years 2016-17 and 2017-18 and ratification of the appointment of statutory auditors of BCCI for the financial years 2017-18 and 2018-19.

However, some of the state associations have questioned on how the accounts can be passed on Wednesday if it’s not an AGM.

“The four-five SGMs that were held in our tenure, which ever account was ready, we would tell them to pass them as the General Body is the one which approves the accounts. This is the next general body we are having and we are proposing the accounts to them, that is all because the general body has to pass the account,” CoA chief, Vinod Rai, told news agency IANS, defending the move.

While 30 state associations were earlier cleared to participate in the BCCI election and the general body meeting, the electoral officer N. Gopalaswami has also allowed the representatives of Services, Railways and All India Universities to attend the meeting and replacements for Uttar Pradesh and Manipur.

The CoA has allowed Maharashtra to attend the meeting without voting rights, but has kept the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association and Haryana Cricket Association out of the entire process.

While all eyes will be on Ganguly, some of the former India cricketers -- Mohammad Azharuddin, Brijesh Patel -- will also be attending the meeting.

Who all will attend the meeting

Andhra Cricket Association: Sarath Chandra Reddy Penaka

Arunachal Cricket Association: Nabam Vivek

Assam Cricket Association: Devajit Saikia

Baroda Cricket Association: Pranav Amin

Bihar Cricket Association: Rakesh Kumar Tiwary

Chhattisgarh State Cricket Association: Prabhtej Singh Bhatia

Cricket Association of Bengal: Sourav Ganguly

Cricket Association of Mizoram: Khairul Jamal Majumdar

Cricket Association of Pondicherry: P Damodaran

Cricket Association of Uttarakhand: Mahim Verma

Delhi and District Cricket Association: Rajat Sharma

Goa Cricket Association: Suraj Lotlikar

Gujarat Cricket Association: Jay Shah

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association: Arun Singh Dhumal

Hyderabad Cricket Association: Mohammed Azharuddin

Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association: Abid Salam

Jharkhand State Cricket Association: Nafis Akhtar Khan

Karnataka State Cricket Association: Brijesh Patel

Kerala Cricket Association: Jayesh George

Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association: Raju Singh Chouhan

Meghalaya Cricket Association: Gideon Kharkongor

Mumbai Cricket Association: Sanjay Naik

Nagaland Cricket Association: Hyunilo Anilo Khing

Odisha Cricket Association: Sanjay Behera

Punjab Cricket Association: Rakesh Rathour

Rajasthan Cricket Association: Vaibhav Gehlot

Sikkim Cricket Association: Lobzang Tenzing

Saurashtra Cricket Association: Jaydev Shah

Tripura Cricket Association: Manik Saha

Vidarbha Cricket Association: Anand Manohar Deshpande


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :