Deodhar Trophy: Gill and Mayank centuries, Jalaj 7/41 knocks out India 'A'

India C beats India A by 232 runs after Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal hit centuries. Jalaj Saxena takes 7/41, the best bowling figures in Deodhar Trophy.

Published : Nov 01, 2019 17:55 IST , Ranchi

Shubman Gill made his highest List-A score playing for India 'C' against India 'A'.
Shubman Gill made his highest List-A score playing for India 'C' against India 'A'.

Shubman Gill made his highest List-A score playing for India 'C' against India 'A'.

Captain Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal’s splendid centuries backed by Jalaj Saxena’s superb seven-wicket haul spurred India ‘C’ to a record 232–run win over India ‘A’ in the Deodhar Trophy at the JSCA International Stadium Complex here on Friday.

Electing to bat, Shubman collaborated with Mayank to forge a massive opening stand of 226 runs and lay a solid foundation for India ‘C’ to post 366 for three, the highest ever total in the tournament.

Saxena’s wonderful spell of spin bowling bundled out India ‘A’ for 134 runs inside 30 overs.

The journey ended for India ‘A,’ which suffered its second consecutive defeat.

India ‘B’ and India ‘C’, with one victory apiece, face off in the inconsequential affair on Saturday before the final on Monday.


Shubman and India Test opener Mayank saw off the initial phase without taking any risk. They rotated the strike and sent the loose deliveries to the ropes. Later, they enjoyed playing strokes on the flatter pitch.

Mayank scored through cuts and glances before flexing his muscles. The Karnataka batsman, who was dropped on 92 off Hanuma Vihari, reached his 13th List ‘A’ century in the 34th over.

Mayank’s 111-ball 120, containing 15 fours and a six off Ashwin, ended when he scooped Vihari to Bhargav Merai at long on.

The elegant Shubman enthralled with his magnificent shots as he switched gear effortlessly. The 20-year-old hammered 10 fours and a dozen sixes on the onside in his sixth hundred, a 142-ball 143. He departed playing a big hit off Ashwin in the 47th over.

India ‘A’ paid the price for its wayward bowling as Suryakumar Yadav’s cameo, 72 not out off 29, helped India ‘C’ overhaul 362 for five, the previous best total by West Zone against East Zone at Cuttack in 2008-09.

India ‘A’ faltered early to be 17 for three, including two scalped by Ishan Porel, in the fourth over.

Devdutt Padikkal (31) and Merai (30) offered some resistance before Saxena displayed his dream performance of seven for 41.

Saxena stuck to his strength even while employing variations. He struck in his fourth over when Padikkal hit high to Priyam Garg at long off. Merai stepped out unsuccessfully to a classical off-spinner and Ashwin edged one to the ’keeper in Saxena’s next.

The 32-year-old seasoned all-rounder dismissed Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan, Ravi Bishnoi and Siddarth Kaul in quick succession to script his best-ever showing and cross the 100-wicket milestone.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment