As it happened: Ranji Trophy semifinals, Day One

Follow the updates of the day one action from both the matches in the semifinal stages of the Ranji Trophy 2017.

Published : Dec 17, 2017 09:37 IST , Chennai

Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary won the toss and opted to bat.
Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary won the toss and opted to bat.

Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary won the toss and opted to bat.

Good Morning!

Welcome to Sportstar's LIVE coverage of Day One  from the Ranji Trophy semifinals.

Karnataka, who dominated the tournament so far, is up against Vidarbha, while Bengal takes on Delhi.

The news from the centre is Bengal has won the toss and opted to bat.

On the other hand, Vidarbha has opted to bowl against Karnataka.

Let us see what Day One has in store for us! Read on...

Bengal vs Delhi in Pune (Scorecard)

Karnataka vs Vidarbha in Kolkata (Scorecard)


Bengal 269/7 (Stumps)

S Goswami 19 (57) and A Gani 4 (4) will try to take Bengal clsoer to 300 on the second day. Overall, it was a balanced display by the Manoj Tiwary-led side; Delhi did well to claim crucial wickets when needed.

4:55 pm: WICKET! B Amit 9 (19) c Manan Sharma b Khejroliya; Bengal 265/7.

4:33 pm: Bengal touches the 250-run mark; 251/6 (82); S Goswami 15 (46), B Amit 0(4).

4:15 pm: WICKET! Saini rattles Majumdar 32 (60).

3:55 pm: Anustup Majumdar 23 (55) and Shreevats Goswami 4 (22) are working it out for Bengal; 230/5.

3:24 pm: WICKET! That's a huge wicket for Delhi, Sudip Chatterjee 83 (162) misses out on a hundred. Two consecutive wickets for Manan Sharma. It was a sharp catch at cover by substitute fielder Unmukt Chand; Bengal 209/5.

3:17 pm: WICKET! Tiwary 30 (59) c Himmat Singh b Manan Sharma; Bengal 200/4.

3:00 pm: Sudip is batting on 77, Tiwary on 29; Bengal inching closer to 200; 195/3 (62).

2:30 pm: Bengal is riding on Sudip 69 (148), skipper Tiwary is playing a good hand here as well. He is unbeaten on 29 off 48; Bengal 187/3 (60) at tea.

1:50 pm: And that's a fine half-century from Sudip Chatterjee; Bengal 154/3

1:30 pm: WICKET! Tokas gets rid of the dangerous Writtick 47 (85). He failed to judge the line of the delivery and was trapped. Bengal 132/3.

1:20 pm: Bengal 128/2 (43 overs).

12:55 pm: Oh my my! This looks like an umpiring error. Saini almost got Sudip. There was a nick, and the noise could be heard clearly. Even the wicketkeeper looked confident, but umpire A. Nanda Kishore isn't interested. Lucky escape for Bengal.

12:45 pm: Writtick and Sudip carry on from where they left. It seems they are eyeing a big total for Bengal.

LUNCH BREAK Bengal 97/2 (33); S Chatterjee 29*(68), W Chatterjee 27* (52).

11:50 am: Bengal 91/2 (30)

11:45 am: Writtick (23*) is slowly changing gears. He has already stolen three fours in a short span of time. Sudip (27*),on the other end, is trying to anchor the innings.

11:25 am: At the end of 24 overs, Bengal 74/2; Chatterjee 23 (47) not out, Writtick on 12 (20).

11:15 am: Writtick Chatterjee, who scored a double in the last rubber, is out in the middle.

11:10 am: WICKET! Vikas Mishra dismisses Raman 36 (70), who was looking good. Bengal 54/1.

10:30 am: Raman is looking good. He has quickly moved to 35, an innings comprising seven boundaries. Bengal 53/1 (17.3)

10:12 am: At the end of 10 overs, Bengal 32/1; Chatterjee 6 (16), Raman 22 (34)

9:51 am: Sudip Chatterjee joins Abhishek Raman in the middle. Apart from two hundreds in the beginning of the tournament, Sudip has had a quiet tournament. He would be hungry for some runs.

9:49 am: And that's the first wicket for Delhi, Easwaran trapped in front of the stumps by Navdeep Saini. He departs for 4 (10); Bengal 8/1 (3.4 overs)



Karnataka 25/3 (Stumps)

Karun Nair 6 (22) and C.M. Gautam 9 (17) will start the proceedings tomorrow. It was a good turnaround by Vidarbha. Karnataka trail by 149 runs.

3:54 pm: And that's the second wicket for Gurbani. He has cleaned up D Nischal for a duck; Karnataka 21/3.

3:51 pm: WICKET! This is a biggie, Agarwal c Wadkar b Umesh Yadav 15 (19); 21/2.

3:45 pm: Karnataka seems to be in a hurry! WICKET! Samarth 6 (20) caught by Wadkar off Gurbani; Karnataka 17/1.

3:20 pm: Mayank Agarwal and Ravikumar Samarth are out in the middle. Agarwal has been a prolific run getter for Karnataka this season and he is expected to keep the momentum going.

Vidarbha innings: 184/10

3:05 pm: And it's all over, Shreyas Gopal breaks Sarvate's resistance, he goes for 47 off 64. Vidarbha all out for 184.

2:40 pm: That's it! A five-wicket haul for Mithun as Umesh Yadav departs for a duck; 170/9.

2:35 pm: WICKET! And that's a first ball duck for R.N. Gurbani, Mithun takes his fourth; Vidarbha 170/8.

2:25pm: WICKET! Mithun continues the rampage, Wakhare 18 (44) out, caught by Gautam; Vidarbha 170/7

1:35 pm: Vinay Kumar strikes. Wadkar 12 (26) has to go; Vidarbha 129/6.

1:10 pm: WICKET! That's a huge wicket, Wasim Jaffer departs for a well-made 39. Sreenath Aravind does the damage; 107/5.

12:36 pm: WICKET! Mithun cuts-short Wankhade's 1 (4) stay in the middle. He is on a rampage. This is his second wicket of the innings; Vidarbha 98/4.

12:30 pm: WICKET! Mithun dismisses Satish 30 (56), good catch by C.M. Gautaml Vidarbha 96/3.

LUNCH BREAK Vidarbha 95/2 (32); W Jaffer 30*(61), G Satish 29* (52).

11:50 am:  Vidarbha 91/2 (30)

11:45 am: Ganesh Satish is looking to steady the innings. If Vidarbha is to put up a good total on board, they need a Jaffer special today.

11:20 am: At the end of 24 overs, Karnataka 80/2; Jaffer is looking good. The right-hander has moved to 27 off 42 which comprises six fours.

10:50 am: Stuart Binny strikes; that ball would have kissed the stumps. Ramaswamy out leg before for 22 (44); Vidarbha 49/2 (17.5)

10:20 am: Wasim Jaffer walks in and starts off with a boundary; at the end of 11 overs, Vidarbha 29/1.

10:12 am: WICKET! Vidarbha skipper Fazal 12 (35) has been trapped leg before by Vinay Kumar. At the end of nine overs, Vidarbha 22/1.

9:45 am: After six overs, Vidarbha is 15 for no wicket. Vinay Kumar and Abhimanyi Mithun has started the proceedings for Karnataka.

9:30 am: Faiz Fazal and Sanjay Ramaswami are out in the middle and are off to a positive start.



Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment