Ranji Trophy final: Vidarbha's road to summit clash

Vidarbha will face Delhi in the Ranji Trophy final starting on Dec. 29 in Indore. We take a look at Vidarbha's journey to the final.

Vidarbha stunned Karnataka by five runs to make it to the Ranji Trophy final   -  PTI

Vidarbha vs Punjab:

A Karnewar's 6 for 47 propelled Vidarbha to an innings win against Punjab at the PCA stadium in Mohali. After bundling out the host for 167, Vidarbha hammered a mammoth 505 runs in reply to all but end Punjab's hopes. The Yuvraj Singh - led side was then all out for 227 in the second innings, handing the visitor a massive seven points.

RELATED: 1) Delhi’s road to title clash

                  2) Captain Fazal ready to do anything for maiden Ranji title

Vidarbha vs Services:

A hundred by captain Faiz Fazal helped Vidarbha to 385 in the first innings before Akshay Wakhare's five for 36 restricted Services to 317. The right-arm off-spinner impressed in the second innings as well, picking up yet another five-for as the visitor slipped to a 192-run defeat.  


Vidarbha vs Bengal:

Vidarbha romped home to a 10–wicket win over Bengal to gather seven points, chasing down the required 14 runs without any loss for its third outright victory the season. Earlier, Bengal was cleaned up for 306, with hundreds by wicket-keeper batsman Wriddhiman Saha (97) and Sudip Chatterjee (82) staving off the ignominy of an innings defeat for Bengal.

Report; Scorecard

Vidarbha vs Goa:

A nine-wicket haul for Akshay Wakhare sealed an innings win for Vidarbha, as Goa was restricted to 239 and 151 in the first and second innings respectively. For the visitor, unbeaten hundreds by Wasim Jaffer (158) and Ganesh Satish (101) helped it to 427 for three in the first innings, making it a nearly insurmountable task for the host.


Vidarbha vs Kerala Quarterfinal: 

Kerala, chasing a gargantuan 578 runs to win, was all out for 165 as Vidarbha qualified for its maiden semifinal in the Ranji Trophy. Although Vidarbha was a bowler short - pacer Lalit Yadav sidelined with injury - left-arm spinner Aditya Sarwate Sarwate secured a  career-best haul of six for 41 to set up a clash with Karnataka.

Report; Scorecard

Vidarbha vs Karnataka Semifinal:

In a thrilling semifinal clash, Vidarbha stunned Karnataka by five runs to earn a final berth. Rajneesh Gurbani starred with the ball, snapping up 12 wickets in the match to thwart Karnataka which, at one point, had threated to take the game away through fighting knocks by Abhimanyu Mithun (33) and Vinay Kumar (36).

Report; Scorecard

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :