Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Shubham Singh's brilliance gives J&K win over Andhra

A second consecutive half-century from Shubham Singh Pundir and an all-round show from Parvez Rasool gave Jammu and Kashmir a five-wicket win over Andhra in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Shubham Singh Pundir scored a 36-ball 51 in J&K's win over Andhra. (File Image)   -  K.V.S. Giri

Jammu & Kashmir pulled off a five-wicket win over Andhra in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T-20 cricket championship league match at Mulapadu Cricket Complex here on Monday.

Andhra, put into bat, scored 146 for seven in 20 overs with wicketkeeper-batsman K. Srikar Bharat (41, 38b, 3 x 4, 1 x 6) being the top-scorer. The other batsmen found the bowling tough to score off as medium-pacer Ram Dayal (two for 23) was the main wicket-taker. Off-spinner Parvez Rasool bowled a tidy spell of 4-1-19-1.

Day 4: As it happened

In reply, J & K achieved the target thanks to a belligerent knock by Shubham Singh Pundir, who cracked his second consecutive half-century (51, 36b, 6 x 4, 1 x 6) and Parvez Rasool’s breezy 22-ball 31 (1 x 4, 2 x 6).

In another match, Delhi recorded a comfortable, seven-wicket win over Kerala thanks to a fine knock by Nitish Rana (52 not out, 36b, 4 x 4, 2 x 6) after opener Unmukt Chand struck a 32-ball 33 (2 x 6).

Manipur notched up the most emphatic win of the day here when it drubbed Nagaland by 10 wickets with openers Mayank Raghav (80 not out, 45b, 4 x 4, 6 x 6) and P. Prafullomani (51 not out, 54b, 4 x 4, 1 x 6) batting with lot of freedom to help the team chase down a target of 133 easily.

The scores

Andhra 146 for seven in 20 overs (K.S. Bharat 41) lost to J & K 148 for five in 20 overs (Abdul Samad 30, Shubham Singh Putir 51, Parvez Rasool 31).

Nagaland 132 for seven in 20 overs (Abrar Kavi 36, K. Priyojit three for 23) lost to Manipur 134 for no loss in 16.3 overs (Mayank Raghav 80 not out, P. Prafullomani 51 not out).

Kerala 139 for seven in 20 overs (Sachin Baby 37, Vinoop Sheela Manoharan 38) lost to Delhi 140 for three in 18.3 overs (Unmukt Chand 33, Nitesh Rana 52 not out)


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :