India vs Pakistan throwback: When Fakhar Zaman and Pakistan cashed in on Bumrah no-ball to victory

What's an India-Pakistan match without a juicy subplot which, in this case, proved decisive.

Zaman could have been dismissed on 3 had Jasprit Bumrah, India's pace spearhead in the current edition of the World Cup, not overstepped.   -  AFP

When India takes on Pakistan in a World Cup 2019 match at Old Trafford in Manchester on June 16, it'll almost be two years since Pakistan's maiden Champions Trophy win. On June 18, 2017, Pakistan beat Virat Kohli-led Team India by 180 runs at The Oval in London.

Fakhar Zaman made a dazzling maiden hundred to set Pakistan on its way to 338 for 4, but what's an India-Pakistan match without a juicy subplot, which, in this case, proved decisive.

 

Zaman could have been dismissed on 3 had Jasprit Bumrah, India's pace spearhead in the current edition of the World Cup, not overstepped. India had started well after putting Pakistan in to bat, when Bumrah tempted Zaman with width, and the left-handed batsman edged behind. On-field umpire Marais Erasmus stopped Zaman from walking to the pavilion to check if it was a no-ball. It was, and Zaman made India pay.

Since then, Bumrah has emerged as Kohli's go-to bowler at the start and in the death overs. He's already had a great start to World Cup 2019, bagging five wickets in two matches so far and will be eager to make amends come Sunday.