Pandey, Iyer to lead India A against South Africa in one-dayers

The five-match ODI series between India A and South Africa A will start from August 29.

(From left): Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill and Manish Pandey at a training session during the Quadrangular tournament in 2018.   -  FILE PHOTO/V. RAJU


India internationals Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer is set to lead India A in the five-match ODI series against South Africa A starting August 29 at The Sports Hub, Thiruvananthapuram.

Pandey will be captaining the side for the first three one-dayers. Iyer will take up the captaincy role in the remaining games.

All-rounder Vijay Shankar, who suffered a toe injury during the ICC Cricket World Cup, has been included in the squad. Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, a trump card in the senior side, is also in the side along with pacers Deepak Chahar and Khaleel Ahmed.

READ| The Pandey, Iyer value in the middle-order

All-rounder Krunal Pandya — who won the Player of the Series in the T20I series-win against West Indies earlier this week — received a call-up too.

Among the newcomers, Mumbai pacer Tushar Deshpande and Himachal Pradesh opener Prashant Chopra — who turned out against Sri Lanka A in June — have retained their berths.

India A team for 1st, 2nd and 3rd one-day: Manish Pandey (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Nitish Rana

India A team for 4th and 5th one-day: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Shubman Gill, Prashant Chopra, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Nitish Rana, Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Ishan Porel


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :