India vs Australia 2018: Team India announces 12-man squad for opening Test

Team India announced 12-man squad for the first Test against Australia, starting from Thursday at the Adelaide Oval.

Virat Kohli and Tim Paine pose with the Border–Gavaskar Trophy at the Adelaide Oval.   -  GETTY IMAGES

The pace trio of Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma and Mohammed Shami will lead India's attack in the first Test match against Australia at Adelaide.

India has decided not to go with five bowlers and has named four bowlers with Ravichandran Ashwin being the lone spinner.

READ: Mitchell Marsh dropped for first Test

The Indian team announced its 12-man squad for the first Test, starting from Thursday.

While the top-order remains the same, it will be interesting to see who will bat at No.6, with Hanuma Vihari and Rohit Sharma both named in the XII, announced on Wednesday.

India skipper Virat Kohli said that his team is confident of doing well and that it is not taking anything for granted.

"We're not taking anything for granted. We just want to focus on our skills and what we need to do. We're looking to correct things that haven't gone right in the past."


India XII for first Test

Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravi Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah 

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

IPL Special

  Dugout videos