Sri Lanka, South Africa, Pakistan and Afghanistan will participate in the inaugural edition of Diplomats Cricket Championship Cup on January 20 and 21.

Consulate General of India in Dubai has announced the launch of Diplomats Cricket Championship Cup, in association with the Skyline University College, Sharjah.

According to a statement issued by the consulate, this is going to be an annual event under the patronage of the Consulate General of India, Dubai.

"The event aims to promote sportsmanship, camaraderie and harmonious relationship among the diplomatic missions of UAE.

Through this event, we also wish to request participation of the staff members of the Diplomatic missions, Business Council members and their respective families in this promising event," said the statement.

While teams from Sri Lanka, South Africa, Pakistan and Afghanistan have agreed to participate this year, New Zealand has also expressed its interest to take part in the event.

"This initiative will be a forum for all participating Consulates, Embassies and Business Councils as an opening to build up and establish active, meritorious and strong social and corporate relationship amongst them," it said.