Ranji Trophy plate: Uttarakhand on verge of quarterfinal berth

Mizoram was bowled out for 198 in its first innings in reply to Uttarakhand's 377 in the Ranji Trophy plate group fixture.

Bihar bowler Ashutosh Aman (C) picked up four wickets against Manipur.   -  PTI

Uttarakhand inched closer to the Ranji Trophy quarterfinals as it enforced a follow-on against Mizoram after bowling out the visiting side for 198 in a Ranji Trophy plate group fixture on Tuesday.

Round 9, Day 2: As it happened

Taruwar Kohli remained unbeaten on 96 on the second day after Mizoram was bowled out for 198 in its first innings. This came after Uttarakhand posted 377 in the first innings at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun.

In the second innings, Mizoram was 32/1 at stumps, still needing 147 runs to avoid an innings defeat.

Earlier, the visiting side was 31 for no loss but it slipped to 67-4, with Sunny Rana scalping a couple of wickets for 46. Dhanraj Sharma was the pick of the bowlers, claiming 3-49.

Kohli had some support in Lalhruai Ralte (30) as the duo added 57 runs to repair the damage. But Mayank Mishra dismissed Ralte to break the partnership before they folded in 75.2 overs.

In Patna, Manipur was at 217-7 in its second innings , with Yashpal Sigh batting on 84. The team posted 156 in its first innings and Bihar put up 257 in its first innings.

Summarised Scores

In Dehradun: Uttarakhand first innings 377.

Mizoram first innings 198 (Taruwar Kohli 96 not out; Dhanraj Sharma 3/49) and following on 32/1.

In Dimapur: Nagaland first innings 467 (Hokaito Zhimomi 177, Rongsen Jonathan 123, Nitesh Lohchab 100; Raiphi Gomez 3/59, Pankaj Singh 3/118). Puducherry first innings 224/3 in 66 overs (Paras Dogra 109 batting, Sai Karthik 81).

In Goalpara: Arunachal Pradesh first innings 169 and 104/8  (Techi Neri 20 batting, Deendyal 17 batting; Ishwar Chaudhary 5/49).

Sikkim first innings 262 (Lee Yong Lepcha 58 not out, Milind Kumar 51; Deendyal 3/96).

In Patna: Manipur first innings 156 and 217/7 (Yashpal Singh 84 batting, Priyojit Singh 64; Ashutosh Aman 4/61, Samar Quadri 3/82). Bihar first innings: 257 in 63.1 overs (Vivek Kumar 40; Priyojit Singh 5/74, Bishworjit Konthoujam 5/74).


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :