Ranji Trophy: Sangwan slams maiden century as Delhi eyes victory

Delhi resumed at 241 for three and declared at 589 for eight for a lead of 396. Following an early tea-break, Assam ended the third day at 100 for three.

Pradeep Sangwan Delhi Ranji Trophy match

Delhi's Pradeep Sangwan scored an 87-ball 100, dotted with four sixes and eight boundaries, against Assam on Saturday   -  Special Arrangement

Delhi needs seven wickets in three sessions on Sunday after pushing Assam on the brink of defeat in the Ranji Trophy league encounter here.


The day saw career-best knocks from overnight batsmen Nitish Rana and Rishab Pant before Pradeep Sangwan, batting at No. 9, shared the honour with his maiden century in the championship. Significantly, Delhi’s scoring rate made the difference as 348 runs came in just 57.1 overs in two sessions.

For the record, Delhi resumed at 241 for three and declared at 589 for eight for a lead of 396. Following an early tea-break, Assam ended the third day at 100 for three.

The fourth-wicket stand involving Rana and Pant regained the momentum seen last evening. Runs flowed with Pant being more aggressive. Overnight on 83, Pant raced down to 146 off just 124 deliveries dotted with 13 boundaries and eight sixes. Looking to reach 150 with a big hit, Pant ended up offering a simple catch at mid-off.

This signalled the end of the 220-run stand but there was no respite for Assam. Milind Kumar joined Rana for a 100-run partnership that pushed Assam further back. Rana improved his previous best of 132, scored against Karnataka last season.

Once Rana fell caught-behind off Abu Nechim after matching Pant’s 146, scored off 222 deliveries with 19 boundaries and two sixes, Manan Sharma and Varun Sood followed the same course as three wickets fell in one over!

Though Delhi slipped from 423 for four to 427 for seven in a matter of five deliveries at the stroke of lunch, more hammering was in store for Assam on resumption, when Sangwan joined Milind.

The two smashed 125 runs off 23 overs before Milind lost his concentration. Searching for a three-figure score since making his debut with a century against Haryana in 2011, Milind messed up on a golden opportunity.

When on 92, dotted with seven boundaries and a six, Milind chased a wayward delivery and resultant edge was taken by wicketkeeper Arun Karthik, diving to his right. The dismissal also meant five victims for Karthik and Nechim.

But Sangwan was not to be denied. En route to an 87-ball 100, dotted with four sixes and eight boundaries, Sangwan also crossed the 1000-run mark when on 63. Later, he got past his previous best of 76, coincidentally, scored against Assam in December 2010 at the Roshanara Club ground in New Delhi.

The scores (round one, day three):

Group A

At Jaipur: Baroda 544 for eight decl. vs. Gujarat 277 for four in 105 overs (Samit Gohil 43, Bhargav Merai 70, Manpreet Juneja 66 batting, Rujul Bhatt 38 batting)

At Lahli: Tamil Nadu 87 & 185 in 62.4 overs (Abhinav Mukund 56, Washington Sundar 40, Dhawal Kulkarni six for 47, Vijay D. Gohil three for 36) lost to Mumbai 176 & 97 for eight in 35.3 overs (Abhishek Nayar 45 n.o., Aswin Crist four for 43, K. Vignesh four for 29)

At New Delhi (Palam): Railways 331 & 180 for two in 67 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 56 retired hurt, Shivakant Shukla 83 batting, Mahesh Rawat 34 batting) vs. Punjab 215 in 80.1 overs (Uday Kaul 61, Gurkeerat Mann 66, Manjeet Chaudhary four for 56)

At Hyderabad: Madhya Pradesh 465 & 118 for two in 53 overs (Tanmay Srivastava 60 batting) vs. Uttar Pradesh 176 in 63.2 overs (Eklavya Dwivedi 37, Kuldeep Yadav 36, Ishwar Pandey three for 65, Gourav Yadav four for 44)

Group B

At Vizianagaram: Saurashtra 430 vs. Rajasthan 62 for one in 19 overs (Manender Singh 44 batting)

At Visakhapatnam: Odisha 150 & 74 for no loss in 22 overs (Sandeep Pattnaik 40 batting) vs. Vidarbha 272 for six decl. in 102 overs (Faiz Fazal 99, Ganesh Satish 74, Deepak Behera three for 35)

At New Delhi (Karnail Singh stadium): Maharashtra 210 & 188 in 61.4 overs (Rahul Tripathi 32, Kedar Jadhav 56, Ashish Kumar three for 44, Shahbaz Nadeem three for 43) vs. Jharkhand 306 in 105.2 overs (Kaushal Singh 130, Virat Singh 46, Saurabh Tiwary 33, Shrikant Mundhe four for 102, Anupam Sanklecha five for 71) & 56 for four in 13 overs

At Vadodara: Assam 193 & 100 for three in 37 overs (Rahul Hazarika 40, Amit Verma 33 batting) vs. Delhi 589 for eight decl. in 128.1 overs (Unmukt Chand 55, Nitish Rana 146, Rishabh Pant 146, Pradeep Sangwan 100 n.o., Milind Kumar 92, Abu Nechim five for 106)

Group C

At Bhubaneswar: Himachal 357 in 93.2 overs (Stephen three for 74) vs. Andhra 47 for one in 14 overs

At Ranchi: Tripura 118 & 149 in 84.3 (Ajay Mandal four for 55) overs lost to Chhattisgarh 255 & 13 for one in 3.5 overs

At Nagpur: Goa 164 & five for no loss in 2.3 overs vs. Hyderabad 388 in 130 overs (Akshath Reddy 128, Bavanaka Sandeep 108, Mehdi Hasan 62, S. Badrinath 41, Amit Yadav three for 73)

At Mumbai: Services 197 & 148 for two in 44 overs (Nakul Verma 54 batting, Aanshul Gupta 40, Soumik Chatterjee 33) vs. Haryana 248 in 89.5 overs (Shubham Rohilla 92, Joginder Sharma 46 n.o., Rajat Paliwal 33, Khalid Ahmad four for 86, Vikas Yadav four for 80)

At Kalyani: Kerala 306 in 102.1 overs (Sanju Samson 154, Jalaj Saxena 69, Samiullah Beigh six for 82, Ram Dayal three for 88) vs. Jammu & Kashmir 106 for five in 29 overs (Adil Reshi 40, Iqbal Abdullah three for 32)

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :