U-19 Quadrangular: Sushant, Karan help India-B clinch title

Chasing 233 for a win, India-A was dismissed for 160 with Sushant Mishra (four for 41) and off-spinner Karan Lal (three for 25) sharing the spoils.

The victorious India-B team strikes a spose after winning the Quadrangular Under-19 one-day series.   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

Medium pacer Sushant Mishra’s opening burst with the new ball set up a comfortable 72-run win for India-B over India-A in the final of the Quadrangular Under-19 one-day series at the Sports Hub on Monday.

Chasing 233 for a win, India-A was dismissed for 160 with Mishra (four for 41) and off-spinner Karan Lal (three for 25) sharing the spoils.

Sushant’s sustained hostility on a lively track saw him bounce out India-A’s in form openers Qamran Iqbal and Siddhesh Veer cheaply and derailed India-A’s chase.

Yashasvi Jaiswal (27) and Shashwat Rawat (27) sparkled briefly and treated the medium pacers with disdain.

READ: ICC: 'India was granted permission to wear caps in memory of fallen soldiers'

Rawat looked in ominous touch as he struck Purnank Tyagi for four consecutive boundaries in an over.

But both batsmen departed in quick succession while trying to attack the spinners - Shivam Sharma and Karan Lal - who chipped in with key wickets in the middle overs.

Mishra in his second spell added more wickets to his kitty as India-A slipped to 117 for nine before a 43-run last wicket stand between Shubhang Hegde (42)  and Kartik Tyagi (eight not out) delayed the inevitable.

Earlier, opting to bat, India-B didn’t have the best of starts. But man-of-the-match captain Rahul Chandrol (70) steadied the innings by first adding 43-runs for the third wicket with Tilak Varma (38).

Then Sameer Rizvi (67) helped Rahul to add 99 runs for the fourth wicket to put India-B in command when the slog overs began.

However, Rahul holed out to Kartik Tyagi at long on off Shubhang Hegde and his dismissal started the collapse.

India-A medium pacer Kartik Tyagi bowled a superb spell in the death overs and struck crucial blows to restrict India-B, which slipped from 170 for three in the 38th over to an underwhelming 232 for nine at the end of the 50th over.

The regular loss of wickets saw India-B managing only 32 runs in the last eight overs.

South Africa beats Afghanistan

At St.Xavier’s College Ground, South Africa defeated Afghanistan by 55 runs to finish third in the competition. South Africa rode on captain Matthew Montgomery’s half-century (73) to post 231 for nine.

Afghanistan was never in the hunt after losing early wickets. Ijaz Ahmad Mehran, who top-scored with 70, was the only batsmen who was able to convert his start. Kgaudise Molefe (four for 31), Andile Mogakane (three for 25) shared the spoils as Afghanistan was dismissed for 176.

Brief scores

India-B 232 for nine in 50 overs (Rahul Chandrol 70, Sameer Rizvi 67, Kartik Tyagi three for 33) beats India-A 160 in 38.3 overs (Shubhang Hegde 42, Sushant Mishra four for 41, Karan Lal three for 25).

Third place: South Africa 231 for eight in 50 overs (Matthew Montgomery 73, Bryce Parsons 44, Andile Mogakane 33, Thamsanqa Kumalo 30, Abdul Tara Khail three for 25) beats Afghanistan 176 in 45 overs (Ijaz Ahmad Mehran 70, Kgaudise Molefe four for 31, Andile Mogakane three for 25)

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :