Vijay Hazare Trophy: Gujarat beats Railways, Puducherry on top after Chandigarh win

Gujarat and Tamil Nadu, with six straight wins and 24 points each, top Group ‘C’ now, while Puducherry climbed to the summit of the Plate Group table.

Parthiv Patel scored 59 runs off 66 balls to guide Gujarat to an eight-wicket win over Railways.   -  Twitter (@SirJadeja)

Gujarat defeated Railways by 43 runs via the VJD method in Jaipur on Monday to notch up its sixth straight win in the Vijay Hazare Trophy Elite Group ‘C’.

In the other games on a rain-hit day, Jammu & Kashmir beat Bihar by 65 runs (via the VJD method), while the match between Bengal and Madhya Pradesh was called off due to rain after 18 overs were bowled in Bengal’s innings.

Railways elected to bat against Gujarat and could only post 231 in 49.2 overs as it frittered away a good start provided by the openers Mrunal Devhar (50, 76 balls, 4 fours, 1 six) and Pratham Singh (76, 78 balls, 9 fours, 2 sixes).

Gujarat spinners Piyush Chawla (4/46) and Axar Patel (2/50) along with left-arm medium pacer Arzan Nagwaswalla (3/46) choked the rival batting line-up, striking at regular intervals. In reply, Parthiv Patel (59, 66 balls, 7 fours) and Priyank Panchal (51, 69 balls, 2 fours) rattled up 109 before the former fell.

READ| Vijay Hazare Trophy: TN outplays Tripura, secures sixth consecutive win

Panchal and Dhrul Raval added 18 more runs before rain came down and ended hopes of further play, leaving Gujarat victor by 43 runs. Gujarat and Tamil Nadu, with six straight wins and 24 points each, top Group ‘C’

On the other hand, Puducherry climbed to the top of the Plate Group table with a clinical eight-wicket win over Chandigarh, while Assam medium pacer Pritam Das claimed a hat-trick in its 180-run rout of Manipur in Dehradun.

Veteran R Vinay Kumar ripped the Chandigarh top order with his two for 20 to set it up for Puducherry after it elected to field at the Kasiga College Ground. Left-arm spinner Sagar Udeshi (3/29) then ran through the middle-order while the other seamer Sagar Trivedi (2/36) wiped out the tail as Chandigarh was bundled out for 152 in 45.3 overs.

In reply, wicket-keeper batsman S Karthik remained unbeaten on a 75-ball 70 to steer Puducherry to a comfortable win in 26 overs. With four matches left, Puducherry now has 16 points, two points clear of Chandigarh in the Plate Group where the topper makes the last-eight.

Host Uttarakhand also remained in the hunt for the solitary quarterfinal spot from Plate Group after skipper Unmukt Chand led it to an eight-wicket win over Arunachal Pradesh. Uttarakhand thus grabbed the third spot with 14 points from five matches, and stays just behind Chandigarh on net run-rate.

Electing to field, Uttarakhand bundled out Arunachal Pradesh for 199 in 48.4 overs with Pradeep Chamoli emerging as the wrecker-in-chief with his four for 31.

ALSO READ| Vijay Hazare Trophy: Sandeep Sharma helps Punjab defeat Haryana

In reply, former Delhi captain Unmukt Chand slammed a 57-ball 87 (9x4, 6x6), while the other opener Karanveer Kaushal also made a quickfire 86 (from 46 balls; 12x4, 5x6) to set the tone as the host cantered home in just 23.2 overs.


Group C:

Madhya Pradesh 223 all out in 47.4 overs (Yash Dubey 106 (105 balls, 12 fours, 1 six), Naman Ojha 23, Manoj Tiwary 2/23) vs Bengal 83 for 2 in 18 overs (Shreevats Goswami 37 not out, Abhishek Kumar Raman 36). No result. Points: MP: 2, Bengal: 2.

Railways 231 all out in 49.2 overs (Pratham Singh 76, Mrunal Devdhar 50, Vikrant Singh 39 not out, Piyush Chawla 4/46, A Nagwaswalla 3/46) lost to Gujarat 127 for 2 in 25.1 overs (Parthiv Patel 59, Priyank Panchal 51 not out) by 43 runs (VJD method). Points: Gujarat: 4, Railways: 0.

Jammu & Kashmir 326 for 6 in 50 overs (Shubham Khajuria 127 (121 balls, 4 fours, 7 sixes), Shubham Singh Pundir 87, Abdul Samad 50) beat Bihar 128 for 4 in 30.2 overs (Babul Kumar 41 not out, Parvez Rasool 3/22) by 65 runs (VJD method). Points: J&K: 4, Bihar: 0.

Plate Group:

Chandigarh 152 in 45.3 overs (Sagar Udeshi 3/29, Vinay Kumar 2/20, Sagar Trivedi 2/36) lost to Puducherry 155/2 in 26 overs (S Karthik 70 not out). Points: Puducherry: 4, Chandigarh 0.

Assam 255/7 in 50 overs (Gokul Sharma 88, Riyan Parag 71; Rex 4/60) beat Manipur 75 in 24.4 overs (Pritam Das 5/5, Roshan Alam 5/18). Assam won by 180 runs. Points: Assam: 4, Manipur: 0.

Arunachal Pradesh 199 in 48.4 overs (Rahul Dalal 95; Pradeem Chamoli 4/31, Rahil Shah 2/30, Avneesh Sudha 2/31) lost to Uttarakhand 202/2 in 23.2 overs (Unmukt Chand 87, Karanveer Kaushal 86). Points: Uttarakhand: 4, Arunachal Pradesh: 0.

  Dugout videos