Veteran batsman Wasim Jaffer will lead two-time Ranji Trophy champion Vidarbha in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20 starting September 24.

Regular captain Faiz Fazal, who suffered a hand injury while representing India Green in the Duleep Trophy, will not be available.

The Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) announced a 15-member squad, sans Fazal, on Saturday.

“Faiz is still undergoing treatment for the injury. We are still looking into it. Once he is cleared, he will join the side. As of today, since he hasn’t recovered, we have announced Wasim as the captain.

“But the injury is a minor one, not very serious,” VCA president Anand Jaiswal told Sportstar.

There is no clarity if Fazal will join the side as captain when he recovers. “We will take a call what to do then,” added Jaiswal.

India international Umesh Yadav, who was overlooked for the Test series against South Africa, is expected to be available for the entire duration of the tournament.

Vidarbha, placed in Elite Group B, will begin its campaign against Delhi in Vadodara.

Maharashtra, Himachal Pradesh, Baroda, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Punjab are the other states in the group.

Vidarbha squad: Wasim Jaffer (captain), R. Sanjay, Atharva Taide, Ganesh Satish, Rushabh Rathod, Apoorva Wankhede, Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper), Akshay Wadkar (wicketkeeper), Akshay Wakhare, Akshay Karnewar, Aditya Sarvate, Umesh Yadav, Yash Thakur, Darshan Nalkande, Shrikant Wagh

Coach: Chandrakant Pandit.