AIFF President Patel in race for AFC’s FIFA council member election

The election for the six FIFA Council member for the term 2019-2023 will be held during the 29th AFC Congress in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Praful Patel will be race with seven other candidates from the AFC member nations.   -  AFP

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) President Praful Patel will be in the running to become one of the six FIFA Council members from the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) when the regional body holds its elections on April 6.

The election will be for the term 2019-2023 and will be held during the 29th AFC Congress in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, the AFC said in a statement.

December 6, 2018 was the deadline for the member associations to submit their nominations.

RELATED | I-League: Churchill prevails 3-2 over Chennai City

The AFC Electoral Committee carried out eligibility checks on the candidates running for the positions and the FIFA Review Committee conducted eligibility checks on candidates running for FIFA Council positions.

The AFC Electoral Committee will be responsible for all tasks relating to the organisation, running and supervision of the elections. The FIFA Governance Committee will nominate representatives to monitor the running of the elections for FIFA Council positions.

FIFA Council Members Candidates:

Saoud A.Aziz M A Al- Mohannadi (Qatar), Khalid Awad A. Althebity (Saudi Arabia), Mariano V. Araneta, Jr. (Philippines), Chung Mong Gyu (Korea Republic), Du Zhaocai (China PR), Praful Patel (India), Mehdi Taj (IR Iran), Kohzo Tashima (Japan).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :