Calcutta Football League: Mohun Bagan to face Peerless SC in campaign opener

The defending champion and last season's runner-up will kick off the new season of Calcutta Football League on July 26.

East Bengal will face George Telegraph SC in its season opener on July 31.   -  I-league

Defending champion Mohun Bagan will kick off its season, taking on last season’s runner-up Peerless SC in the Calcutta Football League Premier Division on July 26, the Indian Football Association announced here Monday.

East Bengal will face George Telegraph SC in its season opener on July 31, as the state football body announced the fixtures for first two round of the elite Kolkata league for the big three clubs including Mohammedan Sporting who begin their season on July 29 against Aryans.

Mohun Bagan plays its second match against Customs on August 6 while Mohammedan Sporting and East Bengal face Rainbow AC and BSS FC on August 8 and 9 respectively at their home grounds.

The CFL will run parallel with the historic Durand Cup, which will be held in Kolkata for the first time with Mohun Bagan playing the tournament opener against Mohammedan Sporting on August 2.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

Read the Free eBook

  Dugout videos