FIFPro World 11: No Bale, Aguero or Sanchez in attackers list

Cristiano Ronaldo is on the FIFA FIFPro World 11 attackers shortlist for the 14th year running, but there is no Gareth Bale.

Published : Sep 10, 2018 20:49 IST

Real Madrid winger Gareth Bale has not been named in the FIFPro World XI list.
Real Madrid winger Gareth Bale has not been named in the FIFPro World XI list.

Real Madrid winger Gareth Bale has not been named in the FIFPro World XI list.

Gareth Bale, Sergio Aguero and Alexis Sanchez have missed out on the shortlist for attackers in the FIFA FIFPro World 11.

Sanchez has struggled for form since joining Manchester United from Arsenal in January and has not earned enough votes to make the final 15.

There is also no room for Bale, despite the Real Madrid forward scoring 21 goals in all competitions last season, including two in the Champions League final.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic misses out for the first time in 12 years, as do Manchester City duo Aguero and Raheem Sterling.

READ: Buffon shortlisted ahead of Lloris and Pickford

Gonzalo Higuain, who scored 23 times for Juventus last season in all competitions, is also not included, but Mario Mandzukic returns after a five-year absence.

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane have been included for the first time, while Cristiano Ronaldo is in the final 15 for the 14th year in a row.

Earlier, Arsenal's Mesut Ozil and Bayern Munich's Thiago Alcantara were two of the big names to miss out on the top 15 midfielders.

RELATED: Ozil overlooked as Matic makes midfield list

Manchester United duo Paul Pogba and Nemanja Matic were included, as was Andres Iniesta, who left Barca for Vissel Kobe after the end of last season.

AC Milan's Leonardo Bonucci did not make the final list of 20 defenders, which included eight debutants, including Yerry Mina, Virgil van Dijk, Joshua Kimmich, Benjamin Pavard, Dejan Lovren and Kieran Trippier.

The five goalkeepers shortlisted were Gianluigi Buffon, Thibaut Courtois, David de Gea, Keylor Navas and Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

The final World 11, comprising the keeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards with the highest number of votes, will be announced at the Best FIFA Football Awards in London on September 24.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment