Indian football: Anas Edathodika comes out of retirement, named in probables for Intercontinental Cup

The defender features in the list of 35 players chosen for the national camp for the Hero Intercontinental Cup.

Anas (left) has played 18 matches for India. Photo: Twitter (@anasedathodika)

Anas Edathodika, the Indian defender, has chosen to come out of retirement.

He has been chosen to be part of the national camp, beginning on June 25, for the Hero Intercontinental Cup next month. The tourney will be held from July 7 to July 19 in Ahmedabad's EKA Arena.

Anas had retired from international football in January this year, after the Indian team was knocked out of the AFC Asian Cup in the group stages. Anas has played 18 matches for India.

India head coach Igor Stimac made a host of other changes from the preliminary list of players that had been chosen for the King's Cup. A noteworthy addition was Mandar Rao Dessai in the midfield, along with Ashique Kuruniyan. The inclusion of the two playmakers will strengthen India's attack.

In the defence, Narayan Das was dropped as Sarthak Golui, Narender Gehlot and Anas were roped in.

Among midfielders, Nikhil Poojari, Mandar Rao Dessai and Ashique Kuruniyan were brought in as Bikramjit Singh, Dhanpal Ganesh, Germanpreet Singh, Redeem Tlang, Nandha Kumar and Komal Thatal were all shown the door.

Among forwards, Sumeet Passi was dropped, and no new inclusions were made. No changes were made among the goalkeepers, too.

READ | India to face Tajikistan in Intercontinental Cup opener

India will face Tajikistan in the Intercontinental Cup opener. India, Tajikistan, Syria and Korea DPR are the four nations participating in the tournament. The top two teams from the round robin stage will qualify for the final.

According to the latest FIFA rankings, Syria is ranked 83rd, followed by Tajikistan and DPR Korea — which are placed 120 and 121 respectively. India is ranked 101.

The Blue Tigers lifted the title last year with a victory against Kenya in the final. The other two teams that competed last year were New Zealand and Chinese Taipei.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Vishal Kaith, Amrinder Singh, Kamaljit Singh.

Defenders: Rahul Bheke, Pritam Kotal, Nishu Kumar, Anas Edathodika, Salam Ranjan Singh, Sandesh Jhingan, Adil Khan, Anwar Ali, Sarthak Golui, Narender, Subhasish Bose.

Midfielders: Udanta Singh, Jackichand Singh, Nikhil Poojari, Anirudh Thapa, Raynier Fernandes, Pronay Halder, Rowllin Borges, Vinit Rai, Sahal Abdul, Amarjit Singh, Brandon Fernandes.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Balwant Singh, Jobby Justin, Farukh Choudhary, Manvir Singh, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Mandar Rao Desai, Ashique Kuruniyan, Soosairaj Michael.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :