It is time again for the country’s flagship golf event, the USD 1.75 million Hero Indian Open. As always, some of the leading Indians will be at the picturesque DLF Golf and Country Club at Gurugram to take on contenders from the European Tour. The annual event is scheduled from March 28 to March 31, 2019.

Shubhankar Sharma, the Asian Tour No. 1; Anirban Lahiri, the 2015 champion; and Brandon Stone, the current Scottish Open winner, are among those who have confirmed for the premier event, co-sanctioned by the European Tour and Asian Tour.

Wiesberger, Johnston to participate

Though the final list of participants is yet to be finalised, Bernd Wiesberger, the four-time winner on the European Tour, and Andrew Johnston, last year’s runner-up, have confirmed their participation.

The Indian challenge is likely to be strengthened by the presence of former champion S. S. P. Chowrasia, Shiv Kapur, Rahil Gangjee, Ajeetesh Sandhu, Viraj Madappa, Khalin Joshi and S. Chikkarangappa.

For the record, since the inception of the event in 1964, the following Indians have emerged as champion: P. G. Sethi (as an amateur in 1965); Ali Sher (1991 and 1993); Feroze Ali (1998), Arjun Atwal (1999), Jyoti Randhawa (2000, 2006 and 2007); Vijay Kumar (2002); Chinnaswamy Muniyappa (2009); Anirban Lahiri (2015); and S. S. P Chawrasia (2016 and 2017).