Aishwarya Pratap wins men's gold in 50m rifle 3-position event

After overcoming tough challenges to win the gold in the men's event, Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar was beaten to the gold by 1.2 point by Niraj Kumarof Navy in the junior final.

Sanjeev Rajput, champion Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar and Parul Kumar after finishing on the podium in the men's rifle 3-position event.   -  Kamesh Srinivasan

Junior World Cup gold medallist Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar continued to assert his dominance among the men as he clinched the gold in the 50-metre rifle 3-position event, by beating Olympian Sanjeev Rajput by 4.4 points in the 12th Sardar Sajjan Singh Sethi Masters shooting championship at the Dr. Karni Singh Range, Tughlakabad, on Thursday

Parul Kumar who also forms the national squad in the event along with Sanjeev and Olympian Chain Singh, was pushed to the bronze medal.

READ: Shooting should get permanent status in  CWG, says Heena Sidhu

World Cup gold medallist Akhil Sheoran, who topped qualification with 1170, Satyendra Singh, Ravi Kumar and Deepak Kumar placed fourth to seventh in that order.

It was a tough exercise, and it was no surprise that Tomar was beaten to the gold by 1.2 point by Niraj Kumarof Navy in the junior final.

In women’s air pistol, national champion Esha Singh, who made significant progress in the Junior World Cup, overcame ill health to win the women’s and junior gold, apart from topping qualification with an impressive score of 580.

In men’s air pistol, Tinjit Dhanota, a coach from Mohali overcame a strong field that included Asian Games bronze medallist Abhishek Verma, who had won the Olympic quota, Ravinder Singh, Omprakash Mitharval, Arjun Singh Cheema and Udhayveer Sidhu.

Dhanota beat national team member Ravinder by 0.5 point for the gold, after scoring 581 in qualification, the second best score.

The Sidhu twins Vijayveer and Udhayveer won the gold and silver in the junior air pistol. Udhayveer had also won the men’s bronze.

In women’s rifle prone event, national champion in all the rifle events, World championship silver medallist Anjum Moudgil topped the list with 621.3 points. Kajal Saini and Meena Kumari beat former World Champion in the event, Tejaswini Sawant to the medals, while Elizabeth Susan Koshy placed seventh with 612.6.

The results:

10m air pistol:

Men: 1. Tinjit Dhanota 240.8 (581); 2. Ravinder Singh 240.3 (577); 3. Udhayveer Sidhu 218.2 (579).

Juniors: 1. Vijayveer Sidhu 242.9 (568); 2. Udhayveer Sidhu 239.3 (579); 3. Arjun Singh Cheema 218.2 (581).

Youth 1. Sharvan Kumar 239.5 (580); 2. Arpit Tomar 237.8 (574); 3. Sarabjot Singh 217.2 (574).

50m rifle 3-position

Men:  1. Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar 459.9 (1166); 2. Sanjeev Rajput 455.5 (1160); 3. Parul Kumar 444.2 (1165).

Juniors: 1. Niraj Kumar 450.0 (1159); 2. Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar 448.8 (1166); 3. Gohil Harshrajsinhji 438.5 (1146).

10m air pistol Women:

1. Esha Singh 239.5 (580); 2. Ruchita Vinerkar 238.6 (568); 3. P Shri Nivetha 217.6 (563).

Juniors: 1. Esha Singh 239.7 (580); 2. Priya Raghav 237.5 (572); 3. Khushseerat Kaur Sandhu 217.5 (563).

Youth: 1. Yuvika Tomar 236.0 (566); 2. Khushseerat Kaur Sandhu 234.1 (563); 3. Aarju Vaishnav 211.4 (562).

50m rifle prone:
1. Anjum Moudgil 621.3; 2. Kajal Saini 616.7; 3.
Meena Kumari 616.2.

Juniors: 1. Bhakti Bhaskar Khamkar 617.9; 2. Nischal 616.6; 3. Ayushi
Podder 612.1.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :