Shooting: Manu Bhaker, Esha Singh make team for Rio World Cup; Heena Sidhu out

Olympic quota places are up for grabs in the last shooting World Cup of the season in Rio. Thereafter, India can win quota places in the Asian Championships.


Manu Bhaker will shoot in the Minimum Qualification Series (MQS) section at the Rio World Cup.   -  Getty Images

Olympian Annu Raj Singh and the Asian Games medallist Shweta Singh have fought their way into the women’s air pistol team for the last World Cup of the season scheduled to be held in Rio from August 26.

Heena Sidhu who had competed in the last two Olympics in London and Rio and won a World Cup Final gold with a world record score, loses her place in the team.

Manu Bhaker who won the Olympic quota in the last World Cup in Munich will shoot in the Minimum Qualification Series (MQS) section. Yashaswini Singh Deswal has managed to retain her spot in the team.

The 14-year-old Esha Singh, who has been making impressive strides in the Junior World Cup after sweeping all three gold medals in the women’s, junior and youth sections in the last National championship in Thiruvananthapuram, will also shoot the MQS section.

READ | Elizabeth Koshy wins gold in women's rifle 3-position

In the men’s section, Kiran Jadhav enters the air rifle team in place of Ravi Kumar. Yash Vardhan has also made the cut while Asian Games silver medallist Deepak Kumar retains his place.

Divyansh Singh Panwar, who won the Olympic quota in air rifle, will shoot in the MQS section along with Sandeep Singh.

It will be the last World Cup offering Olympic quota places. Thereafter, India can win quota places in the Asian Championships.

READ | World University champion Gauri Sheoran "with the IOA" on proposed 2022 CWG boycott

So far, Anjum Moudgil, Apurvi Chandela, Saurabh Chaudhary, Abhishek Verma, Divyansh Singh Panwar, Rahi Sarnobat and Manu Bhaker have won Olympic quota places for Tokyo 2020.

The team:

Men: Anish Bhanwala, Kiran Ankush Jadhav, Anhad Jawanda, Deepak Kumar, Parul Kumar, Swapnil Kusale, Sanjeev Rajput, Gaurav Rana, Saurabh Chaudhary, Adarsh Singh, Chain Singh, RAvinder Singh, Sandeep Singh, Sarabjot Singh, Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar, Yash Vardhan, Abhishek Verma.

Women: Manu Bhaker, Apurvi Chandela, Sunidhi Chauhan, Yashaswini Singh Deswal, Mehuli Ghosh, Anjum Moudgil, Gaayathri NIthyanandam, Abhidnya Ashok Patil, Kajal Saini,  Rahi Sarnobat, Tejaswini Sawant, Annu Raj Singh, Esha Singh, Shweta Singh, Elavenil Valarivan, Chinki Yadav.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :