Arun Sharma (Army Marksman Unit) helped himself to a gold medal from a field of 324 in the 50m rifle prone event of the 62nd National Shooting Championships at the Vattiyoorkavu National Games ranges late on Sunday night.

The Army shooter returned a card of 102.5, 102.9, 103.7, 105.2, 103.9 and 103.9 for a total of 622.3 points as he finished ahead of Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar (Madhya Pradesh) and Tarun Yadav (Delhi), the two finishing with scores of 621.8 and 621.3 respectively.

Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar, however, won the junior individual title with the same score that he recorded in the men’s event, nearly three points clear of C. Sam George Sajan (Tamil Nadu). The Madhya Pradesh shooter, earlier in the day, had picked the 10m air rifle gold medal and thus was able to finish the day with golden double.

The results:

Men: 50m rifle prone: 1. Arun Sharma (AMU), 622.3, 2. Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar (MP), 621.8, 3. Tarun Yadav (Del), 621.3. Team: 1. Army Marksman Unit, 1856.7, 2. Air Force, 1849.6, 3. Haryana, 1844.9.

Juniors: 50m rifle prone: 1. Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar (MP), 621.8, 2. C. Sam George Sajan (TN), 618.5, 3. Fateh Singh Dhillon (Pun), 615.8. Team: 1. Madhya Pradesh, 1838.0, 2. Kerala, 1837.7, 3. NCC, 1822.5.