Saurabh Chaudhary wins silver in ISSF President’s Cup

Saurabh shoots 24 in the gold-medal playoff to finish second to Germany’s Christian Reitz in the men's 10m air pistol; compatriot Abhishek Verma wins bronze.

FILE PHOTO: Saurabh Chaudhary finished 10 points behind Christian Reitz in the final.   -  Getty Images

Saurabh Chaudhary and Abhishek Verma settled for the silver and bronze, respectively, in men’s air pistol, as Christian Reitz dominated right through to capture the gold, in the President’s Cup shooting championship in Wroclaw, Poland.

The Indian duo had the satisfaction of going past the Olympic champion Javad Foroughi, but were unable to match the German Reitz who topped the qualification, semifinal before asserted himself in the four-men final, finishing 10 points ahead of Saurabh.

ALSO READ - Bhaker, Javed win air pistol mixed team gold

In women’s air pistol, qualification topper Manu Bhaker missed the final by one point as she finished third behind Mathilde Lamolle and Olena Kostevych in the semifinals. Olena and Mathilde went on to win the gold and silver respectively.

The results

Men’s air pistol: 1. Christian Reitz (Ger) 34 (25) 586; 2. Saurabh Chaudhary 24 (24) 581; 3. Abhishek Verma 21 (27) 580; 4. Javad Foroughi (Iri) 10 (24) 584.

Women’s air pistol: 1. Olena Kostevych (Ukr) 30 (24) 582; 2. Mathilde Lamolle (Fra) 30 (24) 568; 3. Jiang Ranxin (Chn) 18 (27) 581; 4. Anna Korakaki 8 (24) 583; 5. Manu Bhaker 23 (585); 10. Yashaswini Singh Deswal 567.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :