Australian Open 2020: Ten key facts ahead of the year's first Grand Slam

Ahead of the Australian Open 2020, we list 10 key facts related to the first Grand Slam of the year.

Published : Jan 19, 2020 19:22 IST

Rafael Nadal (left), Serena Williams (centre) and Novak Djokovic have 15 Australian Open titles among them.
Rafael Nadal (left), Serena Williams (centre) and Novak Djokovic have 15 Australian Open titles among them.

Rafael Nadal (left), Serena Williams (centre) and Novak Djokovic have 15 Australian Open titles among them.

The 108th edition of the Australian Open begins on Monday as the world's best tennis players battle it out at the first Grand Slam of 2020. Novak Djokovic and Naomi Osaka will return to defend the titles they won last year, adding to the event's storied history.

The pair will face stiff competition from stacked fields in the men's and women's draw as a host of players seek glory in Melbourne.

Ahead of the action Down Under, here is a selection of the best facts related to the Australian Open.

  1. The last three years have seen the 12 women's Grand Slam tournaments being won by 10 different players; only Simona Halep and Osaka have won twice in that span.
  2.  Djokovic won his seventh Australian Open title in 2019, the most of any male player in the history of the tournament. He has won the event every time he has reached the semifinals.

    RELATED| Australian Open 2020: Medvedev gaining confidence, but accepts 'Big Three' hard to stop
  3. Of the last 14 editions of the Australian Open, 12 have been won by either Djokovic (7) or Roger Federer (5) – Rafael Nadal (2009) and Stan Wawrinka (2014) are the only other winners in that period.
  4. Victoria Azarenka (2012, 2013), Serena Williams (2009, 2010) and Jennifer Capriati (2001, 2002) are the only women to have won successive titles at the Australian Open since 2000.
  5. Federer won his sixth Australian Open title in 2018, 14 years after his first win at the event; no player has won multiple Australian Open titles over a longer period in the Open Era. It is his last win in a Grand Slam tournament to date.
  6. Since 2005, only Serena (2010, 2015) and Azarenka (2013) have won the title at the Australian Open as the number one ranked player in the world.

    RELATED| Australian Open 2020 draw: Djokovic on course for Federer clash as Venus faces Gauff again
  7. Serena has not won any of the last 11 Grand Slams, with her last victory coming at the Australian Open in 2017 when she was pregnant – this is the American's longest span without a major title.
  8. Petra Kvitova lost in the final of the Australian Open last year, the only time she went further than the quarterfinals in her last 19 Grand Slam appearances, since winning Wimbledon in 2014.
  9. Either Nadal or Andy Murray has been the runner-up in nine of the last 10 Australian Open men's finals, Murray losing five times and Nadal four. Marin Cilic in 2018 is the only other player to lose an Australian Open final in that span.
  10. The last time an Australian made it to the men's final at the Australian Open was Lleyton Hewitt in 2005 and the last Australian to win the title was Mark Edmondson in 1976 (against fellow Australian John Newcombe).
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment