No place for Leander in Davis Cup squad

Saketh Myneni, Yuki Bhambri, Prajnesh Gunneswaran, Ramkumar Ramanathan, Rohan Bopanna, and Divij Sharan complete the squad.

Yuki Bhambri has returned to the squad after giving the tie against China a miss.   -  Getty Images

Saketh Myneni returns to the Davis Cup squad for the World Group play-off tie against Serbia to be played on indoor clay at the Kraljevo Sports Venue in Serbia from September 14 to 16.

A four-member team will be nominated on the day of the draw as it will be a normal tie with matches on a best of five sets format over three days, featuring four singles and a doubles.

The country's No.1 singles player Yuki Bhambri returns to the squad after having skipped the tie against China. Divij Sharan was expected to partner Bopanna, especially after the golden run in the men's doubles in the Asian Games in Indonesia.

Sumit Nagal and Leander Paes have not retained their places in the squad from the one that had competed against China.

Serbia had won a live fifth rubber in Bengaluru when the two teams met on the same stage in Bengaluru in 2014.

The team will be accompanied by two physiotherapists, according to a release from the secretary general of the All India Tennis Associaiton (AITA), Hironmoy Chatterjee.

The team: Yuki Bhambri, Ramkumar Ramanathan, Prajnesh Gunneswaran, Rohan Bopanna, Divij Sharan, Saketh Myneni. Captain: Mahesh Bhupathi; Coach: Zeeshan Ali.
For more updates, follow Sportstar on :